Saving Throw bonus and powers with multiple keywords

spinmd

Fishy DM
I want to make sure I will handle a potential scenario correctly, so I have the following question:

A halfling (+5 racial bonus to saving throws against fear) is hit by the Fury of Gibbeth warlock power (Dragon #366) and suffers the save ends effect. Fury of Gibbeth has the Fear and Force keywords. When the halfling ends its turn and attempts to save to shake off the effects of the Fury of Gibbeth power does the halfling:

1) Get a +5 bonus on the save because Fear is one of the keywords of the power.
2) Not get a +5 bonus because the halfling has no resistance to powers with the Force keyword.

Thanks in advance.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

A "fear effect" is defined as any power that has the "fear" keyword. Fury of Gibbeth has the fear keyword, so the character gets the bonus.
 

What he said.

There is a power or two that breaks that rule, but it's obvious, as it says 'This is a fear effect' in the text of the ability itself.
 

Remove ads

Top