Scroll spells: this can't be right, is it?

Vahktang

First Post
Seems that a scoll is a spell complestion item.
According to the DMG, under that description, that means it takes a standard action to complete.
I thought I remember in 3.0 that it took the same amount of time to cast.
So those 10 minute+, hour+, 24 hour, etc casting times come down to a standard action.
Guess that's what you get when you use xp's to cast a spell.
Anybody have a different outlook on this.

More later,

Vahktang
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Vahktang said:
Seems that a scoll is a spell complestion item.
According to the DMG, under that description, that means it takes a standard action to complete.
I thought I remember in 3.0 that it took the same amount of time to cast.
So those 10 minute+, hour+, 24 hour, etc casting times come down to a standard action.
Guess that's what you get when you use xp's to cast a spell.
Anybody have a different outlook on this.

More later,

Vahktang
Check the last sentence of the second paragraph under Using Items on page 213 of the 3.5 DMG.
 

IIRC, spell completion items take a standard action or the time required to cast the spell, whichever is longer... see DMG page 213 above the spell completion item paragraph. You're lucky.

Btw: Vakh, I miss your ugly face on the Kalamar boards.

Edit: Caliban won initiative.
 
Last edited:

I think there was a thread months ago about if it is allowed to have Quickened spells into a scroll, wand or staff, because the SRD IIRC talks about standard action or more to activate...
 

Li Shenron said:
I think there was a thread months ago about if it is allowed to have Quickened spells into a scroll, wand or staff, because the SRD IIRC talks about standard action or more to activate...

You can have a quickened spell in a scroll, but not a wand or a staff.

The item description for wands and staffs states "A standard action (or longer if the casting time is longer than a standard action)".

The item description for scrolls says nothing.

Thus, the general rule ("the casting time of a spell is the same time required to activate the power from an item, unless the item description states otherwise") means that a quickened spell in a scroll is activated as a free action, but in a wand or staff is activated as a standard action (since the item description 'states otherwise').

-Hyp.
 

What about this staff:

Mighty Force: This staff has three powers.

• Shield (quickened, 1 charge, may be activated once per round)
• Forcecage (1 charge)
• Crushing hand (1 charge)

Caster Level: 21st; Prerequisites: Craft Staff, Craft Epic Staff, Quicken Spell, crushing hand, forcecage, shield; Market Price: 265,000 gp.
 

James McMurray said:
What about this staff:

What about the Craft Epic Staff feat, what are its benefits?

However, I don't see much problems in having quickened spells in wands or staves, as long as you pay the cost and you are limited to 1/round.
 

James McMurray said:
What about this staff:

That could perhaps be considered a case of the item description stating otherwise... but strictly, "Staffs use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a staff is usually a standard action that doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity. (If the spell being cast, however, has a longer casting time than 1 standard action, it takes that long to cast the spell from a staff.)"

Quickened Shield has a casting time of a free action; this is not a longer casting time than 1 standard action, and so casting the spell from the staff is a standard action.

If it stated "can be used once per round as a free action", this would clearly satisfy the "item description states otherwise" clause. ... but it doesn't.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Staffs use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a staff is usually a standard action that doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity. (If the spell being cast, however, has a longer casting time than 1 standard action, it takes that long to cast the spell from a staff

What about the "swift" spells on scrolls, in wands and staves? :)

Wouldn't be logical to craft those items, would it?

Kind regards
 

Scharlata said:
What about the "swift" spells on scrolls, in wands and staves? :)

Wouldn't be logical to craft those items, would it?

Liek Feather Fall, say? As written, it would take a standard action to activate.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top