Scroll Use and Class Level

Eye Tyrant

First Post
I haven't got my books at the ready and was curious about something regarding scrolls. What are the rules concerning a caster reading a scroll containing a spell that he/she cannot yet cast? In this case it concerns a 5th Level Cleric reading a scroll of Raise Dead (a 5th level spell). Assume the PC does not have Use Magic Device. I assume there is a chance for failure, but this hasn't come up in my games before that I remember, and I am trying to plan for my next session...
 

log in or register to remove this ad

check the SRD. I believe it is a Caster level Check.

1) Correct type. Check
2) On his class list. Check.
3) Requisite ability score? Need a Wis 15

By SRD

If she meets all three requirements but her own caster level is lower than the scroll spell’s caster level, then she has to make a caster level check (DC = scroll’s caster level + 1) to cast the spell successfully. If she fails, she must make a DC 5 Wisdom check to avoid a mishap (see Scroll Mishaps, below). A natural roll of 1 always fails, whatever the modifiers.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top