D&D 5E Secret Character Creation

MerricB

Eternal Optimist
Supporter
I'm starting a new Greyhawk Campaign next Friday, and for a change I'm not letting the players know what characters the others are playing to begin with.

Instead, they'll email me a few concepts, I'll choose one for each - keeping an eye on party balance - and when they start they can be introduced to each other as strangers.

I'm hoping to include a bit of intrigue in this game, with some PCs not being trustworthy, so I'm hoping doing character generation this way adds to the uncertainty.

I've been playing with most of the group for 13+ years, so changing things up seems fun!

Cheers!

Sammael

Adventurer
Depends on the players, really, but I anticipate a new level of paranoia and mistrust and entire sessions spent on intra-party arguing ;)

MerricB

Eternal Optimist
Supporter
Depends on the players, really, but I anticipate a new level of paranoia and mistrust and entire sessions spent on intra-party arguing ;)

One of the best methods of character creation is that of the Amber system. You want the players to feel like rivals, so they participate in an auction. When you can't be best at something because your so-called friend beat you, things have tension from the outset.

This won't be that extreme, but seeing if it comes together should be entertaining.

Cheers!

Shiroiken

Legend
I'm starting a new Greyhawk Campaign next Friday,
Glad to see another Greyhawk DM :)
and for a change I'm not letting the players know what characters the others are playing to begin with.

Instead, they'll email me a few concepts, I'll choose one for each - keeping an eye on party balance - and when they start they can be introduced to each other as strangers.