Terramotus
First Post
This came up in our game tonight. So, we have an Avenger with the Sequestering Strike level 3 encounter power. He's a Pursuing Avenger, so on a hit with the power he is able to teleport the enemy a number of squares equal to 1 + his Dex mod. He then teleports into a square adjacent to the enemy.
We are adventuring in Sharn, so there are lots of ledges handy. It's the Avenger's position that he can choose to teleport a given enemy 10 feet out from a ledge and himself adjacent to a ledge, allowing him to effectively instakill an opponent he can hit, and allowing himself a Saving Throw to avoid falling (p284 PHB).
This certainly bears its own risks. The other option is to teleport the enemy adjacent to the ledge, allowing it a saving throw, and himself to safety, which while not as powerful, is certainly safer. Regardless, once per encounter as long as he's within 20 feet of a ledge he can force an opponent he can hit to have a 45% chance of instant death.
It was some of the group's position (myself included) that the enemy should be allowed the Saving Throw to prevent the first case of unavoidable death using the falling rules. However, the Avenger states that this is not allowed, as the teleported creature is never within actual reach of the ledge to catch it to avoid falling.
The actual text in question:
Thoughts?
We are adventuring in Sharn, so there are lots of ledges handy. It's the Avenger's position that he can choose to teleport a given enemy 10 feet out from a ledge and himself adjacent to a ledge, allowing him to effectively instakill an opponent he can hit, and allowing himself a Saving Throw to avoid falling (p284 PHB).
This certainly bears its own risks. The other option is to teleport the enemy adjacent to the ledge, allowing it a saving throw, and himself to safety, which while not as powerful, is certainly safer. Regardless, once per encounter as long as he's within 20 feet of a ledge he can force an opponent he can hit to have a 45% chance of instant death.
It was some of the group's position (myself included) that the enemy should be allowed the Saving Throw to prevent the first case of unavoidable death using the falling rules. However, the Avenger states that this is not allowed, as the teleported creature is never within actual reach of the ledge to catch it to avoid falling.
The actual text in question:
Catching Yourself: If a power or a bull rush forces you over a precipice or into a pit, you can immediately make a saving throw to avoid going over the edge. This saving throw works just like a normal saving throw, except you make it as soon as you reach the edge, not at the end of your turn.
Thoughts?