Shadowdark Shadowdark General Thread [+]

Have what might be a silly question and need some advice. Last night our wizard was blinded during combat and was wondering if he could magic missile the foes anyway. We looked up several of the SD "attack" spells (acid arrow, magic missile, disintegrate) and they don't actually specify that you need to "see" the target although other types of spells specified that you did. We decided that it would be silly to have him magic missile a creature he couldn't see but I agreed to check on these boards to see what other people think in case that situation ever comes up again. The general spellcasting rules also didn't seem to cover a situation where a caster was targeting a creature they couldn't see unless I missed something in the heat of combat. Looking back I feel like I should have let him do it since so many spells do specify that you must see the target so it seems like the lack of that condition is unlikely to be an oversight. But again, I thought I'd see what more experienced SD GMs and players think.

Cannot see, generally I'm saying no.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Have what might be a silly question and need some advice. Last night our wizard was blinded during combat and was wondering if he could magic missile the foes anyway. We looked up several of the SD "attack" spells (acid arrow, magic missile, disintegrate) and they don't actually specify that you need to "see" the target although other types of spells specified that you did. We decided that it would be silly to have him magic missile a creature he couldn't see but I agreed to check on these boards to see what other people think in case that situation ever comes up again. The general spellcasting rules also didn't seem to cover a situation where a caster was targeting a creature they couldn't see unless I missed something in the heat of combat. Looking back I feel like I should have let him do it since so many spells do specify that you must see the target so it seems like the lack of that condition is unlikely to be an oversight. But again, I thought I'd see what more experienced SD GMs and players think.

The correct answer here is, of course, "I cast magic missile at the darkness."
 



Have what might be a silly question and need some advice. Last night our wizard was blinded during combat and was wondering if he could magic missile the foes anyway. We looked up several of the SD "attack" spells (acid arrow, magic missile, disintegrate) and they don't actually specify that you need to "see" the target although other types of spells specified that you did. We decided that it would be silly to have him magic missile a creature he couldn't see but I agreed to check on these boards to see what other people think in case that situation ever comes up again. The general spellcasting rules also didn't seem to cover a situation where a caster was targeting a creature they couldn't see unless I missed something in the heat of combat. Looking back I feel like I should have let him do it since so many spells do specify that you must see the target so it seems like the lack of that condition is unlikely to be an oversight. But again, I thought I'd see what more experienced SD GMs and players think.
As usual with OSR style play,I think the answer is "it depends." I would allow an attempt at Disadvantage if the target was being noisy and/or in an obvious location regardless of sight. But if it would be impossible for the player to tell where the target might be precisely, then no chance of success.
 

Remove ads

Top