Shaman: Spirit Companion Bonus

Horrendos

First Post
Here we go..

I have my Spirit Companion attacking an Opponent with "Call to the Savage Elder". The hit is successfull - the opponent is able to attack after he was hitted and attacks the Spirit and kills the Companion.

Because its still my turn i Call a new Companion at the same place.

Does my allys still gets the Power Bonus from the "CtSE"-Power? Or is the bonus "bounded" with the individual companion?


thx for your help
Horrendos

P.S.
Call to the Savage Elder:

Until the end of your next turn, any ally adjacent to your spirit companion
gains a power bonus to the damage rolls of melee attacks
equal to your Wisdom modifier.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The underlying question here is whether or not each iteration of Call Spirit Companion creates distinct instances of spirit companions, or whether the power calls forth a singular spirit companion that is the same each time.

In Magic, if a card leaves play and comes back, it's treated as a new entity, and carries no memory of its 'former life.' Does the same idea apply here?

For many powers it does--this is a very valid question and interpretation, and there is no officlal ruling on it.

However, my personal interpretation has to do with how Call Spirit Companion is worded. It does not call a spirit companion, but it calls your spirit companion, implying a sense of permanence, that your spirit companion is a single iteration, that the power does not do anything more than call forth the one that you have.
 

I'm with Dracosuave on this one. Our group has always looked at this in a way that so long as you meet the requirements of the power 'adjacent to your spirit companion', the benefits will take effect.

There are no direct rulings to imply that benefits are tied solely to the summoned creature at the time. If that were the case, it would probably make some of the daily powers quite bad.
 

I agree with Dracosuave also. He's hit the nail on the head with the YOUR spirit companion observation.

It's like you have a special bond with a particular spirit, it's always the same one doing your bidding. It doesn't die when damaged, somehow you bond with it is momentarily broken (which hurts you), but with a moment's concentration you reestablish the bond and it returns.

I'd let the bonus apply whether or not it is destroyed by the enemy's attack and then recalled or not.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top