eamon said:
True, but 3.5 Haste itself is already a spell targeting multiple creatures, so it's not a significant difference in this context.
Would and antimagic field suppress Haste for all subjects if one is in the antimagic field?
As you noted above, a spell with multiple targets doesn't really have a point of origin. So it is possible to bring 'the spell' within the field? Or only the magical effect?
Haste is the example used in AMF, and it says that a hasted creature is not hasted in the field, but it resumes once he leaves. It sounds like the magical effect, rather than the entire spell, is what is being suppressed in the case of haste. The field suppresses the functioning of any spell within its confines, but doesn't appear to affect the functioning outside the confines.
Interestingly, AMF has no language regarding area spells and points of origin. If we intersect a minor portion of a Desecrate, the Desecrate's functioning is suppressed within the field's confines. If we intersect the point of origin, does the entire desecrate shut down, since the source of emanation is suppressed? Or does the periphery of the Desecrate continue to function? If we consider AMF to block line of effect, the whole spell should shut down (since its entire area is either suppressed, or has no line of effect to the point of origin). If we consider it to be transparent to line of effect like a Globe of Invulnerability, then the absence of any note about point of origin means the remainder of the spell should continue to function.
Edit - ah, wait, Rules Compendium covers it. And manages to throw my logic out the window in so doing: AMF does
not block line of effect, but if the point of origin is included, the entire spell is suppressed
-Hyp.