Silly Question: Cleric Domain Abilities

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
The Feats chapter is relevant to all characters.

The Magic chapter is relevant to all spellcasters.

The Classes chapter is relevant to all characters, but you're restricting things that appear within the Cleric section of the Classes chapter to applying to Clerics, right?

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Hypersmurf said:
So can a good Cleric/Abjurer cast Protection from Good as a wizard spell?

I would actually say no to that one, because it's more of a moral restriction to me.

The cleric would be able to, technically, but wouldn't do it. :)

Bye
Thanee
 

Dimwhit said:
Sure there is:

"Wizards can no longer cast spells from the prohibited school."

I would add to that: "Even from another class."

This is clearly a question of interpretation (since it requires reading into the text clarifying language). I would point out that the WotC interpretation is (and has been for some time) that the limitation concerning prohibited schools for specialist wizards only applies to spells he (or she) casts as a wizard (reference: Tome and Blood and Complete Arcane).
 

Storm Raven said:
This is clearly a question of interpretation (since it requires reading into the text clarifying language). I would point out that the WotC interpretation is (and has been for some time) that the limitation concerning prohibited schools for specialist wizards only applies to spells he (or she) casts as a wizard (reference: Tome and Blood and Complete Arcane).

I'm leaning this way myself. The restricted schools that a specialist wizard has should not affect his other casting powers derived from other classes. The wizard learns his spells through the application of intelligence, through study. He doesn't get them by divine providence nor through some other, undefined connection with magic like the sorcerer. His study of the specialty of one school has precluded him from making any headway into the restricted ones. Note that the text on School Specialization says that's based on neglecting the study of other schools. Spells granted based on praying devoutly or through some other natural connection to magic should be unaffected.

Now, with respect to the domain power, I am willing to allow that to cross class boundaries. Those bonuses are generally based on some inherent property of the spell not at all dependent on whether it's divine or arcane, studied or spontaneous, in its source. If the cleric has the Chaos domain, I don't think it matters whether the spell is divine or arcane, if it uses the forces of chaos to do its job, the domain power should apply.
 

Storm Raven said:
This is clearly a question of interpretation (since it requires reading into the text clarifying language). I would point out that the WotC interpretation is (and has been for some time) that the limitation concerning prohibited schools for specialist wizards only applies to spells he (or she) casts as a wizard (reference: Tome and Blood and Complete Arcane).
Hey, if Complete Arcane spells it out that way, then I'm cool with it. I didn't know they did. Still not sure I agree on principle, but I'll certainly concede the point.
 

Dimwhit said:
Hey, if Complete Arcane spells it out that way, then I'm cool with it. I didn't know they did. Still not sure I agree on principle, but I'll certainly concede the point.

I think Complete Arcane does, I'd have to check my copy to make sure. I know Tome and Blood did, and the rules in question didn't change between 3.0 and 3.5, so I don't see any reason why the interpretation of them would.
 

Well, if the god of Chaos is granting you a boost to your use of Chaos magic, I dont think hes going to care wether the magic is clerical or wizardly.
 

Aaron L said:
Well, if the god of Chaos is granting you a boost to your use of Chaos magic, I dont think hes going to care wether the magic is clerical or wizardly.
Well, if the god of Chaos is granting you a boost to your Chaos magic, he's probably doing it by just making the Chaos magic he sends you a little stronger. I don't think he's going to care whether or not you have wizardly magic as well. ;)
 

Thanee said:
I would actually say no to that one, because it's more of a moral restriction to me.

The cleric would be able to, technically, but wouldn't do it. :)

So change it for a Chaotic Cleric/Wizard casting Protection from Chaos.

If he can, and you tell him he shouldn't, he's gonna cast it just because, so there! :)

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top