Sinister Spire (Group 2)(Orsal Judging)


log in or register to remove this ad



Eanos, human monk

Eanos is taken off-guard by the maneuver, and falls into the water. He lashes out at the nearest fish man, but, still sputtering from his sudden spill, fails to connect.

[sblock=OOC] Oh, good lord, IC hates me today:

Strength check vs. Bull Rush (1d20+2=4)

Since he's in the water now, might as well make f5 the new Dodge opponent. Attack rolls similarly miserable:

flurry attack vs. f5, round 7 (1d20+5=10, 1d8+2=6, 1d20+5=13, 1d8+2=8)

My question, then, is where does Eanos wind up in the water? On top of f5, or to his side?[/sblock]
 


My question, then, is where does Eanos wind up in the water? On top of f5, or to his side?[/sblock]

Hmmm... good question. The rules only have you moving more than one space if the creature that rushed you moves with you. So that wouldn't take you past where f5 is. However, you also can't end your movement in the same space as another creature. So, one of you has to move. The closest I can come to resolving this conundrum is to note that the rule on movement in combat says "You can’t end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless." Maybe "your movment" means "the move action of your turn". Eanos ended the action of someone else's turn in the same square as f5. So, when f5's initiative came up, it took a 5' swim to get space to swing the staff at Eanos.

Round 7
Semabin (21) swings his scimitar at f6 but only grazes the creature's scales.

Pendrake (16) fires an arrow at the fishcritter in the water attacking Eanos, but he too finds his target's natural armour too tough. Each of the enemy around him tries to sneak a bite in as he pulls the arrow back; the only one to succeed is f7, reaching up from the water to bite his leg for 3 HP damage.

Eanos (16) attacks the same critter with similar lack of success.

With Eanos in the water, the other fishmen not on the bridge swarm around him.

f3 (16) leans over and bites Eanos, but again the monk proves too talented to catch. (Attack: 18)
f6 (15) can't bite Semabin either. (Attack: 10)
f8 (15) fails to bite Eanos. (Attack: 18)
f2 (12) on the bridge bites Pendrake. (Attack: 16. I'm looking through the thread... Pendrake never revised his Dodge after climbing back on, right? So unless I missed something...) Pendrake takes 4 HP damage.
f4 (11) also bites Pendrake (another natural 20, no critical) for 3 HP. That brings Pendrake down to 2 HP.[/]
f5 (4) tries to swing his staff at Eanos but misses the clever monk. (Attack: 15)
f7 (4) cannot bite Pendrake. (Attack: 5)

Code:
              f5 f8
water      f4 E  f7             water
bridge --- f3 f2 P  S  f6  --- bridge
 

Pendrake rummages in his sack again and finds the cure serious wounds potion and quaffs it. (oh boy here comes some more AOO.)

Dodge will be against F2 now
 
Last edited:



Round 8
Semabin (21) still can't hurt his enemy with his scimitar.

Pendrake (16) drinks a potion that restores 16 HP to him. In the process, he provokes attacks of opportunity from f2 (17) and f7 (15); only the former, next to him on the bridge, manages to bite him, doing 3 HP damage.

Eanos (16) has a very successful flurry of blows, knocking f4 down to 0 HP. The creature begins to sink, disabled.
Note: If Eanos is not holding onto anything, he needs to make a DC 5 Swim check each round to stay afloat. I'll roll it for this round: 19. Eanos has no difficulty staying on the surface while fighting.

f3 (16) fails horribly to bite Eanos. (Attack: 5)
f6 (15) seems to be in a stalemate with Semabin, each well enough protected from each other's blows. (Attack: 13)
f8 (15) however does bite Eanos this round (Attack: 20) for 3 HP damage.
f2 (12) bites Pendrake (Attack: 18) for 3 HP damage.
f5 (4) swings his quarterstaff wide of Eanos. (Attack: 8)
f7 (4) cannot bite Pendrake. (Attack: 10)

Code:
              f5 f8
water         E  f7             water
bridge --- f3 f2 P  S  f6  --- bridge
 

Remove ads

Top