Bauglir
First Post
Arthur Tealeaf said:
But when the character is dead and being swallowed... are the potions still attended? And still...no matter how attended the potions are, they still end up in the dragons belly in the end!
And about those cans of worms... Well, I can't really disagree. You have some good points there! But I still think that even "attended" potions should bestow their effect upon the dragon if swallowed. I can't really think of an explanation why they shouldn't!
Yep they still are attended. To use the fireball thing again, if a party member falls in a fight, and a fireball goes off, are all of his items incinerated? Generally speaking no they aren't. (YMMV)
Why aren't they? The long and short of it is because that's just mean (after all the character may end up resurrected). Generally speaking the rules will fit the reality, but in some cases they're just there to keep balance and fun, and are somewhat inconsistent with how one might percieve the situation.
For example - why can't I get AoOs on helpless foes that I threaten? After all they're not defending themselves any more than that wizard that just tried to cast a spell. Because that would lead to the "down an opponent, then finish them with an AoO" scenario, making the game FAR more lethal (and less fun), particularly at low levels.
Now the 2 rules in question here are:
a) Attended objects are not subject to external environmental influences (with the exception of a 1 roll on a saving throw)
b) Drinking a potion is a standard action that provokes an AoO; You cannot drink multiple potions at once.
My take on this scenario is that you MUST go by the rules, or you'll be creating an inconsistency that opens up the whole can of worms I mentioned above.