So, if a dragon swallows someone carrying a lot of potions....


log in or register to remove this ad

Quickbeam said:
If they are properly stowed, I'd say no effect as the PC is consumed. IMO, that would be similar to allowing the benefits of swallowing a character with a Ring of Invisibility or Cloak of Displacement.

If however, the potions are loosely carried and broken/quaffed upon chomping the PC to bits, then I'd use the random miscability effects mentioned above. Either way, funny stuff to ponder along with Immovable Rods, etc. :D.

But you don't use a Ring of Invisibility or cloak of displacement by swallowing them! And the glass would probably be digested by the dragon, so the liquid would end up in it's stomach!
 

The Sigil said:
Nothing would happen.

In game terms, the dragon must unstopper and quaff the potion - drinking a potion is a standard action that provokes an attack of opportunity and is required to gain the benefits of the potion. The dragon didn't take this action, hence gains no benefits.

--The Sigil

But that action just represents the time and movement required to pour the liquid down ones throat! The spell is in the liquid, not in the unstoppering of the vial and the quaffering of the potion!
 
Last edited:

*cough* Dragon 308, Page 32: Potions: Any dragon is capable of using potions. In most circumstnaces, a dragon doesn't even bother opening a potion container, it simply swallows or chews up the container. Because a dragon can eat just about anything, this doesn't cause any problems for the dragon, nor does it affect the potion in any special way.

Have fun.:D
 


IMO no the dragon does not get the effects of the potions, because they are attended objects. If you were to allow this then you would be opening up a whole can of worms.

Why for example, can't the player make one of those multi-potion bottles? More liquid? OK then fair enough - since amount of liquid is important vs character size then halflings and gnomes must take full-round actions to drink a potion, for consistency. And what if the player is a large creature? (a half-ogre for example) - can they then swig multiple potions at once?

Then we get around to the other problems - if I fireball an archer and he takes damage, it makes sense that his bow will be incinerated (or at least the string), his armour may melt, any potions he's carrying will probably explode, scrolls are history, and so is a spellbook if he has one. But of course, none of this happens because they are attended objects and enjoys special protection as such..

And all that is just the juicy worms at the top of the can.
 

Actually, I think the Sage(for what it's worth) said that the amount of liquid from a potion doesn't matter, as long as you drink all of it. This doesn't let you drink any more potions. And you can't have multiple potions in the same bottle, they would cancel out. There are some rules for a reason.:rolleyes:
 
Last edited:

IMG, my character has a wristlet with small caps filled with powdered versions of potions. He can store up to 10 potions per wristlet, and has on on each wrist. In one situation, he got ripped up by a landshark, and ended up taking 5 Cure Serious Wounds 'Potions' at once, and had to make a fotitude save or go into catatonic shock from taking that much healing at once. Well, he succeeded.:D

IMO, if a dragon swallows an excessive amount of potions, the same should happed to him/her. If you partake of that huge an amount of drugs at once, you gonna go into shock if not careful.:)
 

Bauglir said:
IMO no the dragon does not get the effects of the potions, because they are attended objects. If you were to allow this then you would be opening up a whole can of worms.

Why for example, can't the player make one of those multi-potion bottles? More liquid? OK then fair enough - since amount of liquid is important vs character size then halflings and gnomes must take full-round actions to drink a potion, for consistency. And what if the player is a large creature? (a half-ogre for example) - can they then swig multiple potions at once?

Then we get around to the other problems - if I fireball an archer and he takes damage, it makes sense that his bow will be incinerated (or at least the string), his armour may melt, any potions he's carrying will probably explode, scrolls are history, and so is a spellbook if he has one. But of course, none of this happens because they are attended objects and enjoys special protection as such..

And all that is just the juicy worms at the top of the can.

But when the character is dead and being swallowed... are the potions still attended? And still...no matter how attended the potions are, they still end up in the dragons belly in the end!

And about those cans of worms... Well, I can't really disagree. You have some good points there! But I still think that even "attended" potions should bestow their effect upon the dragon if swallowed. I can't really think of an explanation why they shouldn't!
 
Last edited:

Angcuru said:
IMG, my character has a wristlet with small caps filled with powdered versions of potions. He can store up to 10 potions per wristlet, and has on on each wrist. In one situation, he got ripped up by a landshark, and ended up taking 5 Cure Serious Wounds 'Potions' at once, and had to make a fotitude save or go into catatonic shock from taking that much healing at once. Well, he succeeded.:D

IMO, if a dragon swallows an excessive amount of potions, the same should happed to him/her. If you partake of that huge an amount of drugs at once, you gonna go into shock if not careful.:)

But they aren't drugs, They are spells! Would that mean 5 clerics could "shock" someone by simultaniously casting 5 cure serious wounds spells on them?

Great idea by the way, with the wristlet...
 

Remove ads

Top