As one of the players in this game, I was probably the most vocal in arguing against this ruling. My reasoning was as follows:
1) Even if the bag would produce the wizard instead of the statue despite the giant character not knowing that there was a change, he can feel items before they are retreived so he would know he was not feeling a statue but instead a living being, and could therefore choose not to retrieve the wizard in that case
2) When Stalker0 responded that since the bag was open she could teleport out even if the giant let her go (what ended up happening was because he said this he just ruled that she was taken out of the bag) I argued against this using the example of the rope trick spell. Rope trick also creates an extradimensional space, similar to that of a bag of holding. The text of the spell clearly states
In the end everything turned out fine, and it was an on the fly ruling that we did not stop the game for, but I don't feel it was the correct one with regard to the rules.
1) Even if the bag would produce the wizard instead of the statue despite the giant character not knowing that there was a change, he can feel items before they are retreived so he would know he was not feeling a statue but instead a living being, and could therefore choose not to retrieve the wizard in that case
2) When Stalker0 responded that since the bag was open she could teleport out even if the giant let her go (what ended up happening was because he said this he just ruled that she was taken out of the bag) I argued against this using the example of the rope trick spell. Rope trick also creates an extradimensional space, similar to that of a bag of holding. The text of the spell clearly states
Clearly you cannot teleport out of an extradimensional space since that spell does not work across planes either in 3.5 or AE. My argument was basically that Stalker0's ruling in effect meant that if one person was inside a rope trick space and someone else climbing up stuck their arm in, suddenly the person in that space would have the ability to teleport out. This makes no sense rules-wise.SRD said:Spells cannot be cast across the extradimensional interface
In the end everything turned out fine, and it was an on the fly ruling that we did not stop the game for, but I don't feel it was the correct one with regard to the rules.