Spell completion/item activation + Cleric Domains

Curugul

First Post
Say You have a Cleric 1/Fighter 10 with the luck domain. Can he try and read a scroll as if Moment of Prescience (The luck domain's level 8 spell) is on his divine list? Or do domains not count for trigger/use activation on wands/scrolls/items?


Boggled,

Curugul
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Yeah, domain spells are considered part of a cleric's spell list for things like using spell completion/trigger items. Note that he'll have about a 70% chance of failure in order to actually use that scroll (and he needs a Wis of 18 in order to even try), since he's only a 1st level cleric and the spell has a caster level of at least 15.
 

As a very off-side thing that just came to my mind... A Cleric with domains that give a +1 caster level to certain spells (Healing, Good/Evil/Chaos/Law, Divination, Illusion...), would he have such +1 also on the caster level check to use scrolls?
 

I think they would get the +1 to the check, but I have no evidence.

But a followup question, I think we might have been playing this wrong, if they fail the caster level check and no scroll mishap occurs is the scroll lost?
 

Li Shenron said:
As a very off-side thing that just came to my mind... A Cleric with domains that give a +1 caster level to certain spells (Healing, Good/Evil/Chaos/Law, Divination, Illusion...), would he have such +1 also on the caster level check to use scrolls?
I'd say no. The +1 caster level doesn't actually allow the cleric to cast spells that are beyond his ability (e.g. no 2nd level clerics casting Cure Moderate Wounds), so they shouldn't help with scrolls either.

Alternate ruling: If the cleric is high enough level to cast the spell normally, but still below the caster level (could occur if the scroll was made by a non-cleric, or simply by someone who wanted a higher caster level), it could give a bonus. In other words, a 4th level cleric with the domain of Healing trying to use a scroll of Cure Moderate Wounds with caster level 7.

Shadow145 said:
But a followup question, I think we might have been playing this wrong, if they fail the caster level check and no scroll mishap occurs is the scroll lost?
The SRD doesn't say, but I would rule that the scroll is lost. Otherwise there's no consequence to the failure roll for non-time critical spells.
 

There's no problem with wands - for example, a Cleric with the Air domain can use a Wand of Gaseous Form just fine.

There is a problem with scrolls. That Cleric probably can't use most scrolls of Gaseous Form. It's Air 3, Brd 3, Sor/Wiz 3... which means most of the scrolls of Gaseous Form out there will be Arcane scrolls. The Air Cleric casts Gaseous Form as a Divine spell... so he can't use an Arcane scroll of Gaseous Form.

He can use a scroll of Gaseous Form scribed by another Air Cleric, because it would be a Divine scroll.

Where you get interesting results is on collaboration between two casters to produce a scroll. A Wizard always scribes Arcane scrolls... but the spell can be provided by another caster.

So a Wizard scribing a scroll of a Faerie Fire spell provided by a Druid yields an Arcane scroll of Faerie Fire... which can't be used by anyone except with the Use Magic Device skill, since Faerie Fire isn't on anyone's Arcane spell list.

A Wizard scribing a scroll of a Cure Light Wounds spell provided by a Druid yields an Arcane scroll of Cure Light Wounds... which can't be used by either the Wizard or the Druid involved in its creation, but which can be used by a Bard, since he has CLW on an Arcane spell list.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Where you get interesting results is on collaboration between two casters to produce a scroll. A Wizard always scribes Arcane scrolls... but the spell can be provided by another caster.

So a Wizard scribing a scroll of a Faerie Fire spell provided by a Druid yields an Arcane scroll of Faerie Fire... which can't be used by anyone except with the Use Magic Device skill, since Faerie Fire isn't on anyone's Arcane spell list.

-Hyp.
Hmmm. Are you sure that a Wizard can even scribe a scroll of a spell that he cannot cast? That doesn't seem to be the case in the SRD.

3.5 SRD said:
SCRIBE SCROLL [ITEM CREATION]
Prerequisite: Caster level 1st.
Benefit: You can create a scroll of any spell that you know. Scribing a scroll takes one day for each 1,000 gp in its base price.
 

Vaen said:
Hmmm. Are you sure that a Wizard can even scribe a scroll of a spell that he cannot cast?

There's a passage in the "Creating Magic Items" section about collaborations in crafting items.

-Hyp.
 

Curugul said:
Say You have a Cleric 1/Fighter 10 with the luck domain. Can he try and read a scroll as if Moment of Prescience (The luck domain's level 8 spell) is on his divine list? Or do domains not count for trigger/use activation on wands/scrolls/items?


Boggled,

Curugul
He could only cast it off of a scroll if he has an 18 wisdom. But yeah, it's theoretically possible.
 

Remove ads

Top