My players and I seem to recall a rule about 3D combat that spells effectively have unlimited height to their attacks. IE) A fireball cast within 20 squares on ground level would effectively hit all creatures in burst 3 of any and all altitudes.
I've been reading the DMG on flying rules and the like and haven't found anything to confirm this. Anyone know the flying rules for spells? What have other DM's done for this?
The question only really comes up because my wizard character took Stinking Cloud as his daily and we weren't sure if it would effect guards located in towers 30ft above ground when it was cast at ground level (burst 2 in the case of Stinking Cloud's level 5 daily). For now I ruled that it hits everyone because I couldn't find rules to say otherwise.
Personally, I hope the rules are such that a burst 3 means a cubic burst of 3 rather than unlimited. I'll likely house rule it as such if need be since the unlimited height thing just doesn't sit right.
I've been reading the DMG on flying rules and the like and haven't found anything to confirm this. Anyone know the flying rules for spells? What have other DM's done for this?
The question only really comes up because my wizard character took Stinking Cloud as his daily and we weren't sure if it would effect guards located in towers 30ft above ground when it was cast at ground level (burst 2 in the case of Stinking Cloud's level 5 daily). For now I ruled that it hits everyone because I couldn't find rules to say otherwise.
Personally, I hope the rules are such that a burst 3 means a cubic burst of 3 rather than unlimited. I'll likely house rule it as such if need be since the unlimited height thing just doesn't sit right.