LOL, I just have an image of the DnD world populated by adventurers with really bad backs 'cos they have to stoop all the time to fit in the cube!4E doesn't really support hitting head/feet- a medium size creature occupies a 5 foot cube, so is either all included in the effect or entirely outside.
And even back then, people were reading too much into it. IIRC, the CS dude was saying that they were "high enough" suggesting that you not keep track of it, not suggesting that in-game it's supposed to be infinite. And in many cases, that's a fine idea, but it's an unfortunate answer to a questioner who's obviously interested in what to do when you do need to keep track.That's not a real rule. It was a ruling thrown around by Customer Service back in June that some people latched onto.
And even back then, people were reading too much into it. IIRC, the CS dude was saying that they were "high enough" suggesting that you not keep track of it, not suggesting that in-game it's supposed to be infinite. And in many cases, that's a fine idea, but it's an unfortunate answer to a questioner who's obviously interested in what to do when you do need to keep track.
WotC Customer Service said:A flying creature is considered in that space so they will be affected by spells. There is no aiming high, unless your DM wants to create rules for fighting in a 3D environment.
Sure, but there's a big difference between "no z-axis" so don't keep track of it, and no z-axis, but if you do use a z-axis then interpret all ranges as infinite. The first case is fine, but limited (which is almost certainly what the CS agent was suggesting), and the second is utterly nonsensical.I dunno, it seems pretty clear that CS meant to say "there is no Z axis in 4e D&D" flat-out.
I dunno, it seems pretty clear that CS meant to say "there is no Z axis in 4e D&D" flat-out.