Patryn of Elvenshae
First Post
So, I can make all my main-hand attacks with a short sword, then transfer it to my off-hand, and make all my off-hand attacks with it?
Patryn of Elvenshae said:So, I can make all my main-hand attacks with a short sword, then transfer it to my off-hand, and make all my off-hand attacks with it?
kjenks said:I haven't looked at the TWF rules with that in mind, but I suspect you can't do that.
Patryn of Elvenshae said:Why, then, can I do it with armor spikes?
kjenks said:Because the rules say you can.
werk said:I must have missed that...what rule says you can use armor spikes as both primary and off-hand weapon? I saw where it said it could be either/or, in my quote, but didn't see where it said it could be both. Can you help me out?
kjenks said:Check over the armor spike description again. You can attack with them as either a primary or an off-hand weapon. Unless you think the game designers meant that to be an "exclusive or" condition, you can make a primary attack, an off-hand attack or both.
Not really...kjenks said:See how it works?
Right.You can make a regular meleee attack with the spikes.
Or you can make an off-hand attack with the spikes.
Right...like in English."Exclusive or" is the kind of logical operator a computer programmer would think of in a concept like, "You can be living or dead" -- with the implied words, "but not both at the same time."
O, RLY?The usual way we use the word "or" is more like, "Would you like fries or a shake with that?" -- with the implication that you can choose both, if you like.
So you and your DM need to determine which version of the word "or" is being used in the armor spike rule. There's logic in both choices.
I don't see where you get both... Look at armor spikes like a gauntlet. You can use the gauntlet as your primary OR secondary weapon, but if you want to use it as both, you'd need to buy two. You can't buy two armor spikes because, as you've said, they are 'all over' rather than one hand or the other.On one hand, you could think that armor spikes are all over your armor, on knees, elbows, helmet, toes, shoulders, so it's perfectly reasonable to attack with them as either a primary weapon or an off-hand weapon or both.
I read that as saying you can't make a second off-hand attack regardless of weapon availability...multiple off-hand weapons.On the other hand, you could think that armor spikes are only one weapon, so it's perfectly reasonable to attack with them as either a primary weapon or an off-hand weapon, but not both because you think that's somehow unbalanced or you think that the game designers meant that "or" as an exclusive-or.
The phrase "another weapon" in that rule seems to confirm that you can make an off-hand attack with armor spikes if you have already made an attack with the same weapon. Or maybe not. Talk to your DM about it.
werk said:I don't mean to be confrontational...
werk said:Right...like in English.
So what's your take on the issue Mistwell? How do you see it?Mistwell said:Are you sure you didn't mean to be confrontational, given that response?