Spiked Chain Disarm at +10 ?

Does anyone use the rule from Sword and Fist that a human's two hands together is a medium..err lol hmm, in 3.5 they really did make that a hard rule to convert. Before two hands could be considered a medium weapon, so a monk could be on level ground with trying to disarm a longsword wielding fighter. Now, a medium longsword in 3.0 is a one handed weapon in 3.5. So, it sorta makes it hard to imagine my "two hand monk" scenario.

I guess I'm just miffed that they left that rule out 'cause I was fond of it *shrugs*.

Tellerve
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The rule was that if you disarm with both hands your "unarmed" is considered as the same size as you. So if your a medium its a medium weapon.

So large creatures would be large and actually get a bonus vs your paltry mace. :)

Also after disarming sucessfully the weapon would be in your hand and not on the floor.
 


Caliban said:


I know, I play a 12th level melee character in LG. I never get to go after my opponents weapons, because they usually don't have them (unless they happen to BE a weapon...)

Yah...I feel your pain.

Maybe if you still have mage levels you can cast enlarge on yourself and have improved disarm so that you can get +14 to disarm chacks on medium creatures that never seem to have weapons.

:D
 

Rashak, yeah they still have the unarmed disarm gets you the disarmee's weapon in your hand. They just don't mention that if you use both hands you don't count them as a light weapon. As it is a monk with improved disarm would be able to be on equal ground with a longsword wielding fighter, as long as that fighter didn't also have imp disarm.

Tellerve
 

The 2 hands disarm = your size rule is in the Sword and Fist splatbook.

As for being equal to a fighter its relative since most fighters have good Str while Monks need to boost other stuff as well. Base attack of fighters is better too.

One would imagine monks would be good at disarming and tripping... but the STR requirment and the base attack seems to make that not the case. So we have had a spat of high STR monks lately.
 

Does anyone use the rule from Sword and Fist that a human's two hands together is a medium..err lol hmm, in 3.5 they really did make that a hard rule to convert.

It's an easy rule to convert.

Two hands is the equivalent of a one-handed weapon.

Isn't the 3.5 system intuitive? :)

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top