Simple rules question: If you are within 5ft of a creature that has Fire Shield active and you hit it with a Spiritual Weapon, do you take damage?
The same reason you are asking in the first place. It doesn't make sense from a story perspective, and the DM can make rulings to fit the story.Spiritual Weapon is defined as a melee spell attack and the creature is within 5', though. So what would make you rule no?
But it's not you physically interacting with the spell, it's the spiritual weapon. The spiritual weapon is engulfed in flames and ... takes no damage because it doesn't have HP. Would you take damage if your goblin friend attacked the fire-shield warded target? Of course not, the goblin would take damage.Spiritual Weapon is defined as a melee spell attack and the creature is within 5', though. So what would make you rule no?
See now that might hit X. I'm not sure I would run it that way, but it makes more sense than the cleric taking damage...RAW yes. As a DM, no.
Interesting idea: since the spectral hammer occupies no space, but must be within 5' of the creature it hits, what if the fire shield erupted into the space the hammer was in?
Example: Cleric casts Spiritual Weapon (SW), which is "in" the space occupied by X, an ally to the fire shield caster. When the hammer hits, the fire shield erupts into the space the attack came from, hitting X instead!
View attachment 267757
Yeah, I don't know if I would run it that way, either, but I thought it was an interesting idea and I wouldn't be opposed to a DM who ruled it that way.See now that might hit X. I'm not sure I would run it that way, but it makes more sense than the cleric taking damage...
Because it's not a ranged attack.Why on earth is a ranged attack listed as melee? This is a badly-designed spell that needs to explain its intended function better.
Again, what if instead of a spiritual weapon, the thing attacking was a friendly goblin?Yes, because that's what the spell says it does. The attacker within 5' is caught in the flame eruption and takes damage.
Huh?Again, what if instead of a spiritual weapon, the thing attacking was a friendly goblin?
The one that attacked.Let us imagine that the person with the fireshield spell is surrounded by 4 clerics, each of wich has cast spiritual weapon. The spiritual weapons are floating in a separate square than the clerics.
(C = clerics, W = spiritual weapons, T = target with fire shield)
one cleric uses their spiritual weapon to attack the target. The spell flares and hits... which cleric?
The same way it knows to blast someone who attacks you with a melee weapon.How does the spell know which cleric to blast?
Why would it do that? That's not what the spell says it does. Why would it recognize that a melee weapon is being wielded by an attacker but not recognize that a spiritual weapon is being wielded by an attacker?To me the easiest explanation is that the spell is not smart, and lashes out at the thing that attacked the warded target. If it's a spiritual weapon well... it gets splashed with flames and nothing happens.