Strand of Prayer Beads (Lesser) - worth it?


log in or register to remove this ad

I can't look it up currently, but someone else posted it in another thread, that the required caster level is actually set by the item in question.

This is a change from 3.0, where it was not relevant for crafting.

Can't really confirm this now, but I'll look into it later.

Bye
Thanee
 

wilder_jw said:
I don't think so. The "CL 17" isn't part of the pre-reqs. It's just the effective caster level of the item.
"... the creator's caster level must be as high as the item's caster level ..."
- DMG, p 215, top of the page, second column​
 


Thanee said:
As it seems, you need to be CL 17th in 3.5 to craft these, however. ;)

Which is idiotic. Various parts of the rules 'still' contridict themselves about this point.

Also, does it make any sense at all? At best the requirement should be '1st level for pearl of power 1, 3rd level for pearl of power 2, etc'. (and they are for that matter)

Lets take a look at ioun stones shall we?

SRD:
Moderate varied; CL 12th; Craft Wondrous Item, creator must be 12th level.

Now, if CL actually meant that then the additional text would not be needed, but it hasnt been removed in multiple editions.

Now let us look at the pearls.

SRD:
CL 17th; Craft Wondrous Item, creator must be able to cast spells of the spell level to be recalled.

Which makes absolutely no sense at all really to have both, very redundant.

So, I will not and have not made the CL what is required for you to be at to make the item. The rules themselves are contridictory enough to warrent that decission.

All that is required is having access to the required spells.

Otherwise it simply makes no sense, which is very unfortunate, but seems to be more and more the norm.
 

I can nip this argument over caster level in the bud by referring to the DMG 3.5 errata.
DMG p. 215
Problem: The last two sentences in the section on Caster Level are ambiguous and potentially misleading.
Solution: Replace with this text: For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the creator. The minimum caster level is that which is needed to meet the prerequisites given.
 
Last edited:


Thanee said:
I can't look it up currently, but someone else posted it in another thread, that the required caster level is actually set by the item in question.

This is a change from 3.0, where it was not relevant for crafting.

No. The "Caster Level" language in the DMG is exactly the same in 3.0 and 3.5. The problem is there were several WOTC people who publicly denied and contradicted (starting in 3.0) that the key language existed.

The 3.5 DMG errata officially changed this (sort of, even the errata claims that what you read didn't mean what it said). Even so, it has no pricing rules for what happens when caster level gets changed, so it's arguably nonsensical.

More: www.superdan.net/dndfaq2.html
 

dcollins said:
No. The "Caster Level" language in the DMG is exactly the same in 3.0 and 3.5. The problem is there were several WOTC people who publicly denied and contradicted (starting in 3.0) that the key language existed.

If you knew what they wanted it to say, you could parse the sentence to say that. If you didnt, you tended to read it the way you say. At least until you get to the item descriptions where they flat contradicted that line.
 

Good to know, so it's like we always played it then (minimum caster level determined by prerequisites, not by what the item description says). :)

Bye
Thanee
 

Remove ads

Top