Summoned Armor?


log in or register to remove this ad

People? Attention please? I think mostly everyone missed/ignored this post. Having vanilla +X armor is to be able to enchant it further later.
If you buy magic armor +3 and later want to upgrade it to Armor of Resistence +3, you need to use Enchant Magic Item ritual and spend 4000gp worth of residuum (see AV p198)

If you buy Summoned Armor +3 and later want upgrade it to Armor of Resistence +3, you need to use Enchant Magic Item ritual and spend 13000gp worth of residuum.

That is the benefit of plain magic armor.
 


People? Attention please? I think mostly everyone missed/ignored this post. Having vanilla +X armor is to be able to enchant it further later.

I skipped that one because I would need citation for it, rather than taking it as rote. My understanding is that it's possible to add a property to armour, or to increase it to something that is 5 levels higher, regardless of it having a property or not, by paying the difference in costs (AV 198).

So? It's not as if they are planning to charge you every time you give a PC summoned armour rather than vanilla armour. :erm:

Summoned Armour is in Adventurer's Vault. I believe the OP's implication is that you get 'better' stuff if you keep buying books (power creep).
 

I skipped that one because I would need citation for it, rather than taking it as rote. My understanding is that it's possible to add a property to armour, or to increase it to something that is 5 levels higher, regardless of it having a property or not, by paying the difference in costs (AV 198).
Adventurer's Vault, page 198
Enchanting Items ...However, the ritual can also be used to place a property in a magic item that has no property, or to upgrade to a more powerful version 5 levels higher.
edit: Further, same page, 2 paragraphs down
The Enchant Magic Item ritual cannot convert one property into another.
 
Last edited:

Adventurer's Vault, page 198

edit: Further, same page, 2 paragraphs down

I think that I already posted that ;)

The upshot is that you can take an item with a property and essentially 'upgrade' it to something with one higher plus. My comment about "with or without property" only referenced the "5 levels higher" section of that rule.
 


Just giving the citation. In the quote, it states specifically cannot change property or add property to item that already has one.
 

Thanks for the information all. The stuff about upgrade costs is handy to know.
 
Last edited:


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top