Surprising Rule Synergy

RigaMortus2 said:
Wow, when I played a Gnome Paladin the charging rules were not that difficult to understand...

Personally, I have always played that if the mount charges, it has to attack. Unless it has Ride-By Attack. I was using a reach weapon at the time, and now I wonder if I was "legally" allowed to do this within the rules...

According to the rules on charging:



If I am on a "war dog" and I am using a reach weapon, like a lance, and the war dog charges, what happens? According to KD, the dog has to make an attack when he charges, which means the war dog would have to be 5 feet next to the target. However, I have a reach weapon and by the rules, we have to move to the closest space from which I can attack the opponent, which would be 10 feet away. So what happens?

This question got lost in the wash and it really does pertain to the whole charging thing.

If I make a charge action on a mount, does the mount have to attack to charge? I have never seen this interpretation. I always assumed no. The mount is effectively doing a double move, the rider is doing a charge action.

Now, I understand the point that I cannot charge on a non-warhorse (or combat trained mount) since the ride skill requires a move action for me to control it. However, assuming I AM riding a combat trained mount, how do I charge with a lance?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

KarinsDad said:
The problem with ruling that a charge is merely a double move until the creature actually makes an attack is that this can be abused. As long as the movement conditions are met, it is in everyone's advantage to do a charge instead of a double move and if nothing along the route causes a problem, then do the attack.

With a double move, you could elect to alter course, double back, etc if your perceptions of the situation change along the way. With a charge, you cannot.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
With a double move, you could elect to alter course, double back, etc if your perceptions of the situation change along the way. With a charge, you cannot.

True, but with a charge, you can get the distance of a double move and then with your interpretation, not get a -2 AC if for some reason it is no longer advantageous to attack (e.g. the perceptions of the situation might change, say once you get past the corner you see 12 opponents instead of 1, it might be better to have the higher AC).
 

KarinsDad said:
True, but with a charge, you can get the distance of a double move and then with your interpretation, not get a -2 AC if for some reason it is no longer advantageous to attack (e.g. the perceptions of the situation might change, say once you get past the corner you see 12 opponents instead of 1, it might be better to have the higher AC).

True. If you don't attack on a charge, then the section marked "Attacking on a charge" can be ignored.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top