Swords of the bastard kind


log in or register to remove this ad

Yah, it's one of those judgement calls... Too bad that WotC doesn't provide an explicit ruling for such situations...
 

Ok, so the fighter is able to get the focus to use the bastard swd with two hands, will it transfer when s/he gets the exotic and is able to use it one-handed?

It seems like it is getting one focus for 2 diff. weapons.
 

Sorry about the delay—I had to eat lunch.

to answer many questions, there is a prestige class that gives the EWP for free. That class will not be available for several more levels. That and there is a magic B sword involved.
 
Last edited:

Darkness said:
Yah, it's one of those judgement calls... Too bad that WotC doesn't provide an explicit ruling for such situations...

Actually, its covered specifically in the rules.

When you lose the prereqs for a feat, you lose the ability to use the feat.

Weapon Focus requires proficiency with the weapon. When weilding the bastard sword in two hands, I have proficiency, so I can take weapon focus.

When I weild the BS in one hand, I have lost proficiency and so lost weapon focus.

If I later get EWP (BS), I now have proficiency with one hand and so can now use Weapon Focus in one hand.
 

Stalker0 said:
Actually, its covered specifically in the rules.

When you lose the prereqs for a feat, you lose the ability to use the feat.

Not exactly. You can still execute a Whirlwind Attack in heavy armor, even though Spring Attack (a prereq for Whirlwind Attack) is unuseable in heavy armor. You didn't lose the SA feat. You still have it, but you just can't use it. So long as you don't actually lose it, you still meet the prereqs for Whirlwind Attack.
 

Stalker0 said:
If I later get EWP (BS), I now have proficiency with one hand and so can now use Weapon Focus in one hand.

There is a small but to this though.

You did not have the required proficiency to use the BS in one hand when you took the feat, which means that you would have to use another WF feat to gain this use of the BS.
 

kreynolds said:
You can still execute a Whirlwind Attack in heavy armor, even though Spring Attack (a prereq for Whirlwind Attack) is unuseable in heavy armor. You didn't lose the SA feat. You still have it, but you just can't use it. So long as you don't actually lose it, you still meet the prereqs for Whirlwind Attack.

Wearing heavy armor or not is not a prereq for either feat, so what is your point.
 
Last edited:

AGGEMAM said:


There is a small but to this though.

You did not have the required proficiency to use the BS in one hand when you took the feat, which means that you would have to use another WF feat to gain this use of the BS.

I disagree.
 


Remove ads

Top