Telekinesis Questions

ES

First Post
I am thinking of a ghost character, so here are my questions. Do I need to make a touch attack to start a grapple/trip attempt? Does creature/weapon size modifier applies to opposed rolls? (Bigger creature generates bigger telekinesis energy really sounds weird to me...) Can I deal damage in a gapple to a corporeal creature, and if I can, do I apply my strength modifier or my charisma modifier to my damage roll? Can I move while grappling, or even during a pin?

Thanks for any help.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The way I've been running it:
ES said:
I am thinking of a ghost character, so here are my questions. Do I need to make a touch attack to start a grapple/trip attempt?
Yes; the spells says to "resolve these attempts as normal" with some exceptions, and I've yet to see anything in the description of Telekinesis that would contradict this.
ES said:
Does creature/weapon size modifier applies to opposed rolls? (Bigger creature generates bigger telekinesis energy really sounds weird to me...)
Again, yes, and for the same reasons ... although it does strike me as weird, too.
ES said:
Can I deal damage in a gapple to a corporeal creature, and if I can, do I apply my strength modifier or my charisma modifier to my damage roll?
Can you? Sure, it's part of grappling - the spell doesn't specify what happens if a non- sor/wiz caster uses it, so the DM can rule any which way he wants and still be within the RAW.... but I've taken that as a pattern IMC - Wizard uses adds Int to spell DC's (known data point), and uses Int in place of Str when grappling via Telekinisis (known data point); Sorceror adds Cha to spell DC's (known data point), and uses Cha in place of Str when grappling via Telekinisis (known data point); a ghost adds Cha to Su ability DC's (known data point), and uses Cha in place of Str when grappling via Telekinisis (extrapolated from pattern)
ES said:
Can I move while grappling, or even during a pin?

Thanks for any help.
As written, not without a grapple check for moving the grapple - you are resolving the attempts as normal with a few exceptions, and your status of being considered grappled is not one of the listed exceptions. I find that decidedly odd, however, and have house-ruled otherwise - you aren't grappled from using TK to grapple another, and can move if you need to.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top