That Evard's BT vs. AOO Thread

Rassilon

First Post
Does anyone recall a recent thread that debated whether or not Evard's Black Tentacles took attacks of opportunity ?

I do, but I can't find it (I was sure it was on the Rules forum).

Could someone post a link if they have it, or even just what the general conclusion (if there was one) came to be.

Thanks,

Rassilon.

Edit: It did it again ! For some reason what ever category I pick it always generates as "Templates". Obviously not a templates question.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Sorry. I did a search, and though I found plenty of threads on Evard's, none talk about what you're looking for.

However, ENWorld has never shied away from debating the same subject multiple times, so...

In this case, I'd say no AoO's for EBT. As has been pointed out in other threads about the spell, the tentacles don't actually attack anything - they just start grappling anything in their area of effect (review the rules for grapples - EBT doesn't need to make an attack roll to initiate a grapple, and a 'grapple check' is not the same thing as an attack roll).

Since the spell doesn't attack, it has no threatened area, and so doesn't take AoO's.
 



Remove ads

Top