Melfast said:If the sequence is -- Player moves three, Dragonshield shifts away one square, Player continues by moving one more squre to stay within range of the Dragonshield -- the Dragonshield ability seems seriously gimped.
I think it makes more sense that the interupt does not occur until you say your move action is done and that you are going to take your next action or end your turn. Then the Dragonshield shifts forcing you to take another action to stay close or let it go. The action that triggers the interrupt (moving adjacent) is complete (you did not keep moving), and that then allows the Dragonshield to interrupt the next thing you were going to do (probably attack him).
Using the halfling slinger example, I'd say the action that triggers the interrupt (taking damage) is completed after the hafling has rolled the die, hit and rolled damage. The successive attacks would take place after the interrupt since the game is exception-based (the halfling's three attack action is interrupted by the gnome's special ability as soon as the action that triggers it is complete).
Just my two cents.
Therein lies the conundrum. They are both immediate reactions. Your first ruling with the Dragonshield happens after a completed move ACTION. You second ruling happens after PART of a standard ACTION. I get that the game is exception based, but when and how to apply immediate reactions should be consistent. They should either interrupt during part of an action (when the specific occurance happens but after the specific occurance happens) or they interrupt after the literal action is done in which the circumstances are met to trigger the reaction. There's a fine line.
By the same token, the fact that the Dragonshield can only do this one a round seems kind of gimped to me - unless I am interpretting that wrong.