Thrikreen Flurry of Blows?


log in or register to remove this ad

Hannibal Barca said:
Am I to understand these questions have never been addressed in the FAQ? :uhoh:

That has very little bearing on the outcome of a Rules debate, in most cases :)

It might provide several pages worth of discussion, but it rarely settles an issue.

-Hyp.
 

Hannibal Barca said:
Am I to understand these questions have never been addressed in the FAQ? :uhoh:
:lol:

Of course they have.
From http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/er/20030221a :

08042005 FAQ page 8 said:
Q: Can a monk who has natural weapon attacks (such as a
centaur monk) attack unarmed and still use his natural
weapons? For example, let’s say he’s an 8th-level monk.
Can he use a flurry of blows and attack at +5/+5/+0
unarmed (plus other bonuses) and then at +0/+0 for 2
hooves?

A: If the creature normally is allowed to make both weapon
attacks and natural weapon attacks as part of the same full
attack routine, the monk can do the same (making unarmed
strikes in place of weapon attacks). Since a centaur can make
two hoof attacks in addition to his longsword attack, a centaur
monk can make two hoof attacks in addition to his unarmed
strike attack (or attacks, depending on his base attack bonus).
The monk can’t use his natural weapon attacks as part of a
flurry of blows, but he can make natural weapon attacks in
addition to his flurry. Such attacks suffer the same –2 penalty
as the monk’s flurry attacks in addition to the normal –5
penalty for secondary natural attacks.

An 8th-level centaur monk has a base attack bonus of +10
(+4 from his 4 monstrous humanoid Hit Dice, and +6 from his
8 monk levels). If he performs a flurry of blows, he makes
three unarmed strikes, at +8/+8/+3. He can add two hoof
attacks at +1/+1 (–5 as secondary weapons, and –2 from the
flurry).

(Does anyone know if this is an entry from when Skip Williams was Sage, or from after Andy Collins took over?)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top