• Welcome to this new upgrade of the site. We are now on a totally different software platform. Many things will be different, and bugs are expected. Certain areas (like downloads and reviews) will take longer to import. As always, please use the Meta Forum for site queries or bug reports. Note that we (the mods and admins) are also learning the new software.

TRAILBLAZER - PDF Release - Discussion/Questions/Errata

jedavis

Villager
Forgive me if this question has been asked already, but on page 111, the line

"If your character fails three stabilization checks before he returns to 0 hit points (or higher), or if he takes massive damage (see above), he’s dead (regardless of the state he is in when he the stabilization checks are failed)."

is somewhat confusing, as it contradicts the line on page 110 that

"If this saving throw [against massive damage] fails, you immediately drop to –1 hit points and begin dying.".

Which of these is correct? Or is it that if you take massive damage while dying and fail the save, you die outright (and thus there is no contradiction)?
 

GlassJaw

Explorer
Forgive me if this question has been asked already, but on page 111, the line

"If your character fails three stabilization checks before he returns to 0 hit points (or higher), or if he takes massive damage (see above), he’s dead (regardless of the state he is in when he the stabilization checks are failed)."

is somewhat confusing, as it contradicts the line on page 110 that

"If this saving throw [against massive damage] fails, you immediately drop to –1 hit points and begin dying.".

Which of these is correct? Or is it that if you take massive damage while dying and fail the save, you die outright (and thus there is no contradiction)?
Thanks for the post hollow, and sorry for the late reply.

You last statement is correct since the statement "or if he takes massive damage" is under the "DEAD" condition.

Note that this rule is also consistent with the Coup de Grace rule on page 104 in that they both supercede the 3 Stabilization Check (3 Strikes) rule.

This is a slight nod to simulationism in that if a character is already in deep doo-doo, they are especially vulnerable to these types of attacks.

Hope that helps!
 

TheLastRogue

Villager
Just in case it got missed - I want the Monstrous Arts book . . . but I noticed now updates since April 2011 . . . is that still a go? Worth kicking in still? Thanks in advance.
 

ValhallaGH

Villager
Not unless the DM really wants them to. It's just a buffer to make 1st level PCs a bit more survivable (less likely to be killed by a single lucky orc warrior) - NPCs don't generally need it, though they can certainly benefit from it.

Have fun.
 
A paraphrase of a question in another thread I started:

Trailblazer borrowed a bunch of text from the SRD description for summon monster, but how does a caster of summon monster apply the following paragraph when using the Trailblazer summon monster.
"When you use a summoning spell to summon an air, chaotic, earth, evil, fire, good, lawful, or water creature, it is a spell of that type."​
The tables don't seem to offer any step for applying a subtype. Does the caster just pick it out the air arbitrarily?
 

TheLastRogue

Villager
More ask a simple question, get a simple answer (I hope) . . .

Solo and Elite monsters. Keep the same CR. Got it. Same spine, so same CR. However, since they have the hit points of multiple monsters do they reward more xp? Or do they still grant the same xp as a standard of the same CR?

Thanks.
 

jedavis

Villager
More ask a simple question, get a simple answer (I hope) . . .

Solo and Elite monsters. Keep the same CR. Got it. Same spine, so same CR. However, since they have the hit points of multiple monsters do they reward more xp? Or do they still grant the same xp as a standard of the same CR?

Thanks.
Yeah, I was pondering increasing XP rewards for them as well. Curious on official thoughts on this.
 

ValhallaGH

Villager
Same CR means the same XP.

They're just more dramatic battles. They aren't supposed to increase the speed up character progression.
 

Wulf Ratbane

Villager
Same CR means the same XP.

They're just more dramatic battles. They aren't supposed to increase the speed up character progression.
For Elites, the effect of the template isn't really worth any additional CR. It's negligible.

For Solos, clearly the changes to the monster are significant. However, I counter that the Solo changes are required to make the monster actually perform at its listed CR.

Ultimately, if the players have a hard time with a Solo monster and you think it is warranted, you might award them some ad hoc bonus XP.

But I would not, in terms of looking at XP first to budget encounters or weigh the challenge for a party, consider a Solo as "worth more" than the listed XP value.
 

Syndron

Villager
Trailblazer with Pathfinder question

Hello

I just have bought the pdf of this game and absolutely love what i have read so far. I am working out the class comparisons for the Pathfinder RPG so i can do some tweaking.

My main question concerns determining the spellcasting ability point value. I figured out how the total spell levels work. I know it is based on total spell levels, max number of spells, and a fixed multiplier. I seem to be having problems with what the multiplier is.

Thanks for any help.
 

jedavis

Villager
I want to say the formula was something like .00025 * total spell levels at 20th * max spell level at 20th.
 

lichmaster

Villager
Multiclass spellcasting clarification

Hi all!
First post on this forum :)

Great job with Trailblazer, i like it so much! We re still trying it out,but our next campaign will surely be based on it.

I have some questions, the first regards multiclass spellcasting

At first i thought that with "The highest level spell a character may cast from any class spell list is equal to his base magic bonus from that class. " you ment that is BASED on its BMB, i.e, following the appropriate row on the table at page 27.
However, the example at page 28 and this answer confirm differently:
Perhaps I read it wrong, but would a cleric 10/wizard 10 be able to cast 9th level spells of both classes?

Also: The cleric ends up having 4 domain spells from spell levels 1 to 5, yet he only gets access to 3 domains. How does this work?
Yes.

That's an error. Ignore the second entry.
The question now is: if a clr10/wiz10 can cast level 9 spells of both classes, why should one choose not to multiclass? Isn't it overpowered? I mean: spellcasting is the "meat" of the wizard class, and also a good slice of the cleric also. This way one gets a huge spell list, a lot of slots and also half of the total of class features of both classes...

What do you think of my first interpretation: max spell level is given by max spell level at the BAB of each of your casting classes?
This way a clr10/wiz10 gets max spell level of 5 in both (+10 BMB each), and a total of 5/4/4/4/4/4 spell slots (not counting bonus from ability scores, domains, bonus slots ecc ecc)

Thanks, and keep up this wonderful work!
 

jedavis

Villager
Hi all!
First post on this forum :)

Great job with Trailblazer, i like it so much! We re still trying it out,but our next campaign will surely be based on it.

I have some questions, the first regards multiclass spellcasting

At first i thought that with "The highest level spell a character may cast from any class spell list is equal to his base magic bonus from that class. " you ment that is BASED on its BMB, i.e, following the appropriate row on the table at page 27.
However, the example at page 28 and this answer confirm differently:




The question now is: if a clr10/wiz10 can cast level 9 spells of both classes, why should one choose not to multiclass? Isn't it overpowered? I mean: spellcasting is the "meat" of the wizard class, and also a good slice of the cleric also. This way one gets a huge spell list, a lot of slots and also half of the total of class features of both classes...

What do you think of my first interpretation: max spell level is given by max spell level at the BAB of each of your casting classes?
This way a clr10/wiz10 gets max spell level of 5 in both (+10 BMB each), and a total of 5/4/4/4/4/4 spell slots (not counting bonus from ability scores, domains, bonus slots ecc ecc)

Thanks, and keep up this wonderful work!

The main thing keeping Wiz10/Clr10 from being more powerful than a Wiz20 is that they get the same base number of spell slots, since they have the same BmB. The multiclass gets access to a much larger spell list, and bonus domain spells of 5th level and below, but loses out on the high-level readies, and has to divide his available slots and readies between his two spell lists. I guess that's really the thing; you take your total BmB from all classes and index it into the table to determine how many total readies and slots you have per day. Then, for each available ready, you choose a spell from one of your class' lists of the appropriate level, provided that you have BmB from that class of at least that spell's level (ex: A Clr2 / Wiz3 can't ready Cure Serious Wounds, since it's a 3rd-level spell and his BmB from Cleric is only +2, but he can ready Fireball and Cure Moderate Wounds).

When all your spells from all classes come from the same pool which scales appropriately for your level, caster multiclassing is actually very very balanced. We had a Cleric 4 / Sorcerer 4 in one of our games who was pretty versatile, but no more powerful than a straight sorc 8 or cleric 8 would've been (he actually decided after a couple of sessions that since he was almost only using sorcerer spells, he would've been happier as just a sorc 8, but the ability to switch to an all-cleric spell list on a daily basis would've been nice if we'd been up against undead or other cleric targets).
 

Advertisement

Top