Kannik
Legend
Another "so, this situation came up" post... regarding charges and specifically, mounted charges, in 3.5e.
Amusingly, IIRC 3.0 was a bit more clear on this. The way we remember it is that a charge must be initated at the start of a character's action, the character must move at least 10', and all movement in a charge must be in a straight line.
3.5 seems to change the wording to 'move before your attack' and 'may move up to double your speed directly towards the designated opponent'. A bit later, they mention 'you can't take a 5' step in the same round as a charge'.
Two things: one, there seems to be no direct requirement that one must begin their charge at the begining of their action (or, put another way, any prohibition to moving some part of your movement before beginning your charge so long as you have 10' at the end for the charge). Obviously, if this is the case, this would allow characters to move to a non-blocked/hampered area before starting their charge.
Of course, if one looks at the "Charging Blocked" image in the PHB, given the fact they don't give an example of Tordek moving to charge the orc from an un-obstructed direct does seem to provide some evidence to the fact that the rule hasn't changed.
And what a change it would be!
The second could be an interpretation of 'directly towards' -- is this necessarily a straight line? Hey, its word games, and it does go against the images, but some may try to take advantage of it.
Now, to throw another twist into it, this whole thing came up due to charging on a mount. The player seems to remember a rule that allows an exception to the 'charge must begin right at the start of movement/activation' rule, in that it can move a bit and then start charging.
And as if this wasn't a big enough vortex, the player in question has a flying mount with Average maneuverability, and has ride-by attack. Average allows a full 90~ turn in one square.
So, to make this whole thing somewhat shorter: could they charge, attack, fly by, end their turn... next turn could they turn around in the same square and charge once again, fly by... rinse, repeat.
That was a bit more convoluted a question than I expected.
Kannik
Amusingly, IIRC 3.0 was a bit more clear on this. The way we remember it is that a charge must be initated at the start of a character's action, the character must move at least 10', and all movement in a charge must be in a straight line.
3.5 seems to change the wording to 'move before your attack' and 'may move up to double your speed directly towards the designated opponent'. A bit later, they mention 'you can't take a 5' step in the same round as a charge'.
Two things: one, there seems to be no direct requirement that one must begin their charge at the begining of their action (or, put another way, any prohibition to moving some part of your movement before beginning your charge so long as you have 10' at the end for the charge). Obviously, if this is the case, this would allow characters to move to a non-blocked/hampered area before starting their charge.
Of course, if one looks at the "Charging Blocked" image in the PHB, given the fact they don't give an example of Tordek moving to charge the orc from an un-obstructed direct does seem to provide some evidence to the fact that the rule hasn't changed.
And what a change it would be!
The second could be an interpretation of 'directly towards' -- is this necessarily a straight line? Hey, its word games, and it does go against the images, but some may try to take advantage of it.
Now, to throw another twist into it, this whole thing came up due to charging on a mount. The player seems to remember a rule that allows an exception to the 'charge must begin right at the start of movement/activation' rule, in that it can move a bit and then start charging.
And as if this wasn't a big enough vortex, the player in question has a flying mount with Average maneuverability, and has ride-by attack. Average allows a full 90~ turn in one square.
So, to make this whole thing somewhat shorter: could they charge, attack, fly by, end their turn... next turn could they turn around in the same square and charge once again, fly by... rinse, repeat.
That was a bit more convoluted a question than I expected.

Kannik