Two-handed weapons and your other hand

MiB

First Post
I was just wondering how the rest of you handle two-handed weapons and what you can do with your free hand (or not-so-free hand).

The classic example seems to be the staff-wielding wizard. I'm sure that most DMs (including me) allow a character to cast a spell (requiring a free hand) and holding a quarterstaff in the other hand.

In the next round, the wizard could conduct a full attack with his staff. What about AoOs in the time between those two actions? Is the staff ready or not?

Another example: If you wield any two-handed weapon (including a bow) can You use the Deflect Arrows feat?

I think it's becoming a bit less clear here...
 

log in or register to remove this ad

MiB said:
I was just wondering how the rest of you handle two-handed weapons and what you can do with your free hand (or not-so-free hand).

The classic example seems to be the staff-wielding wizard. I'm sure that most DMs (including me) allow a character to cast a spell (requiring a free hand) and holding a quarterstaff in the other hand.

In the next round, the wizard could conduct a full attack with his staff. What about AoOs in the time between those two actions? Is the staff ready or not?

Another example: If you wield any two-handed weapon (including a bow) can You use the Deflect Arrows feat?

I think it's becoming a bit less clear here...

Doesn't it say in the rules that you need only one hand to carry a two handed weapon? Unless the weapon was somehow bonded to your hands so they couldn't be removed, you should be able to cast spells and various other quick tasks using a single free hand.
 
Last edited:

MiB said:
I was just wondering how the rest of you handle two-handed weapons and what you can do with your free hand (or not-so-free hand).

The classic example seems to be the staff-wielding wizard. I'm sure that most DMs (including me) allow a character to cast a spell (requiring a free hand) and holding a quarterstaff in the other hand.

In the next round, the wizard could conduct a full attack with his staff. What about AoOs in the time between those two actions? Is the staff ready or not?

Another example: If you wield any two-handed weapon (including a bow) can You use the Deflect Arrows feat?

I think it's becoming a bit less clear here...

I'd say its a free action to change your grip so your holding a two-handed weapon in one hand. Since its a free action, you change change grip, cast your spell and then change grip back all in your action. Thus you can AoO with the staff. Same with a bow; change grip to one hand when its not your turn and use Deflect Arrows or whatever.


Aaron
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top