Two Pit Fighter questions

kingmob13

First Post
Two questions concerning Pit Fighter powers. My apologies for not including page numbers.

1. In the Extra Damage Action power the pit fighter gains bonus damage to the damage roll when they spend an action point, to any of their attacks until the end of the turn.

Does this mean 'any and all' - does it apply to the extra standard action from the action point, and the normal standard action, and add more than once in the case of attacks that involve a secondary attack, or multiple secondary attacks?

2. In All Bets are Off the flavor text indicates the secondary attack is a punch, and the damage for the secondary attack reflects this (1d6 + STR rather than [1W] + STR).
However, the text does not specifically indicate the secondary attack is taken without a weapon (the exploit has the weapon keyword, of course), and many fighters fight better with their weapons.
Should the secondary attack be an attack roll with the weapon? Or with an unarmed attack?

Thanks for your help, sorry for the lack of page numbers and exact quotes but I'm at work (please feel free to use quotes if you have em).
 

log in or register to remove this ad

for #2: the 'fact' that its a punch is covered by the 1d6 damage, but there are no reasons in the rules for him not to get any and all proficiency/class/feat/enhancement bonuses to attack and damage. Fluff doesn't impact the rules, so the power itself doesn't 'know' its a punch, it treats it as a weapon attacks that deals only 1d6 instead of its usual [w]. Keeps it simple and effective (otherwise you'd end up with a second attack which effectively has a -6 or -10 penalty (2-3 from prof, 1 from fighter class, 3-6 from enhancement) which is pretty weak sauce.
 



re: #1, essentially, yes

Does this mean 'any and all' - does it apply to the extra standard action from the action point, and the normal standard action, and add more than once in the case of attacks that involve a secondary attack, or multiple secondary attacks?
yes to the action point standard action
yes to the regular standard action
and yes to any and all attacks derived from those standard actions.
 

It says it adds the damage to any of your standard action attacks this turn. I think it means any attack you make one of your standard actions, so if there are secondary attacks, they get the bonus as well. That is the most literal/simple interpretation (IMO). It is also possible it means you get the bonus once per standard action you take using an attack power (ie twice is the max). The first intepretation can be pretty swingy in power (imagine it combined with blade cascade) while the second is fairly reliable and standard. Honestly I'm not sure which they were going for.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top