Two Rods and Properties.

Minigiant

Legend
Supporter
Is there something keeping a warlock from holding two rods at once and benefiting from each rods properties at once.

Because a star lock could a rod of harvest and rod of reaving, curse 3 minions to make them take reaving auto damage, and store a +3 boon in the rod of harvest. Then there's twofold curse.

And if you consider transfering a curse the same as placing it, a doomsayer with harvest and corruption rods can spread a curse, use an action point and get +1 for every minion within 5 squares slain by Doomsayer's Action.

Then there's also rod juggling a rod of harvest, a rod of corruption, and a rod of reaving to curse and kill a minion army and get a boon off the last wave saved for the General. I don't see something stopping me for wiping a thousand legionaries and getting +200 to an attack roll, skill check, or ability with one curse.

I've gotta be missing something right?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Is there something keeping a warlock from holding two rods at once and benefiting from each rods properties at once.

Because a star lock could a rod of harvest and rod of reaving, curse 3 minions to make them take reaving auto damage, and store a +3 boon in the rod of harvest. Then there's twofold curse.

And if you consider transfering a curse the same as placing it, a doomsayer with harvest and corruption rods can spread a curse, use an action point and get +1 for every minion within 5 squares slain by Doomsayer's Action.

Then there's also rod juggling a rod of harvest, a rod of corruption, and a rod of reaving to curse and kill a minion army and get a boon off the last wave saved for the General. I don't see something stopping me for wiping a thousand legionaries and getting +200 to an attack roll, skill check, or ability with one curse.

I've gotta be missing something right?
Yes.

1/ Transferring isn't he same as placing, because they used different words, and considering them the same would be broken.

2/ Rod of Harvest may only store +1 for a Star-pact Warlock, since it stores one benefit when your pact boon triggers, not when your pact boon gets used during your round.

3/ There are many abuses for an army of minions. Don't use them like that.

4/ "Curse three minions"? You can place a curse exactly ONCE per round, or TWICE if you have the Paragon feat.

Cheers, -- N
 

I have a warlock in my campaign I'm running and the question of whether or not a Rod of Reaving would kill a minion when a curse was placed on came up. In theory it seems like it would as the DMG states that even attacks that don't require attack rolls, like Paladin's Divine Challenge. However, it seems a bit cheesy to me, so I'm thinking of not allowing it. As a warlock would then just need to move around the battlefield popping the minions, as a minor action.

I haven't seen it errata'd though yet, so maybe I'm wrong?

Tellerve
 

I knew I had to be missing something.

If multiple cursed enemies fall all at once, is it multiple triggers of the same same boon or one big trigger?

Multiple triggers means a fey warlock can Misty Step for each "death".
One big trigger means a star warlock can store a large bonus on a Harvest wand.
 

I knew I had to be missing something.

If multiple cursed enemies fall all at once, is it multiple triggers of the same same boon or one big trigger?

Multiple triggers means a fey warlock can Misty Step for each "death".
One big trigger means a star warlock can store a large bonus on a Harvest wand.
Multiple triggers, because they're a "when"-event, not an "if"-event. Triggered actions interrupt attacks, so there's no concept of "at once". You roll attacks in an order, you resolve the events triggered by each attack roll during that order.

Cheers, -- N
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top