Warmage and Extra Spell

Just because you cant find the rule does not mean you get to make jokes thanee. It'd be nice if you could actually come up with something to back up your statements though.

I'll stick with what the feat says. You can make up your own houserules all you like.


Even with that however, cure light wounds is an arcane spell. So, there would be even less reason for you to argue against it.

There is no mention of the spell needing to be on the spell list and, unless proven otherwise, I will assume that you can cast any spell that you know.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
Ahem.

Play nice, children.

-Hyp.
(Moderator)

Just his way of saying he has no legs to stand on ::shrugs:: happens every time he is up against a wall.

but, the real reason that I made this post, do you have any suggestions on the matter?
 

Scion said:
Just because you cant find the rule does not mean you get to make jokes thanee. It'd be nice if you could actually come up with something to back up your statements though.

He already quoted it:

A wizard casts arcane spells which are drawn from the sorcerer/wizard spell list.

How can that be any clearer? Is the spell on the Sorcerer/Wizard spell list? No. Does the feat specifically say that it adds the spell to the Sorcerer/Wizard spell list? No. Why assume that it does?
 

RigaMortus said:
He already quoted it

That is not 'may only', it is a reference to what the book accepts as the norm.

The feat changes that.

The feat is poorly written and lacks wording, but it is poorly written and lacks wording with 'either' interpretation.

I'd rather go with the one that makes more sense and actually 'does' something.
 

Scion said:
but, the real reason that I made this post, do you have any suggestions on the matter?

Me? I agree with Thanee.

An extra spell that you're actually able to cast by virtue of your class and level.

-Hyp.
 

Scion said:
I'd rather go with the one that makes more sense and actually 'does' something.

That's cool, as said above, but that's a house rule, which is all I'm saying. :)

The feat very clearly states what it does... it allows you to learn a new spell, it does not add non-wizard spells to your class list making you able to cast them (it should say that, if it did that). No bad wording at all.

Bye
Thanee
 

Scion said:
I'd rather go with the one that makes more sense and actually 'does' something.

What do you mean? The feat DOES do something. It is meant for Sorcerer's and Bard's to take (though a Wizard can still take it, they just won't get "as" much use out of it as a Sorc/Bard would). Just as Extra Slot is meant for Wizards to take.
 

Hypersmurf said:
An extra spell that you're actually able to cast by virtue of your class and level.

All right then, why? It doesnt say one way or the other where you pick it from. So, why would you assume it is one way over the other?
 

Scion said:
All right then, why? It doesnt say one way or the other where you pick it from. So, why would you assume it is one way over the other?

Let's look at some paladin class features:

The power of a paladin’s aura of good (see the detect good spell) is equal to her paladin level.

Each day she can heal a total number of hit points of damage equal to her paladin level x her Charisma bonus.

The paladin may not summon another mount for thirty days or until she gains a paladin level, whichever comes first.


Now let's look at the shadowdancer:

Every third level gained by the shadowdancer adds +2 HD (and the requisite base attack and base save bonus increases) to her shadow companion.

Notice how they're very careful to specify 'paladin level'... but the shadowdancer's companion increases with 'every third level' gained by the shadowdancer.

Should we assume that a shadowdancer who gains six levels in rogue gets to add +4 HD to his companion? After all, 'every third level gained by the shadowdancer' has happened twice!

Or is it obvious that it means 'every third shadowdancer level'?

-Hyp.
 

Thanee said:
Ok, let's pretend, that a wizard could actually learn a cleric spell with that feat.
Let's say the wizard learns Cure Light Wounds.

Now, please quote the rule, which allows a wizard to cast this spell.

Hey, Thanee...

... what if a sorcerer does it? :D

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top