Ways to craft almost any item?

Jack Simth

First Post
[font=&quot]Let's see if I have this straight; suppose a Mage of the Arcane Order wants to craft something; he has the appropriate feat, but doesn't have the spells for it.

Well, spells taken from the spellpool fade fairly quickly if not cast ... for now, lets assume that this isn't enough time for the spell to meet the item creation pre-reqs.
However, a Ring of Spell Storing will hold any spell cast into it indefinitely.

So, suppose that, every day of item creation, the MotAO:
1) Prepares spells, leaving appropriate blanks for the level of spells he is going to call, but preparing "trade" spells to cover what he will be calling (to pay back the pool)
2) Pre-pays the prepared trade spells into the spellpool
2) Calls the spells he will need for the forging.
3) Casts the called spells into rings of spell storing.
4) Uses the spells stored in the rings to forge the item.

If the number of levels of spells needed exceeds his per-day allotment from the spellpool, he modifies it a bit, to store up the spells in the rings, and works on the item every other day, or every third day, or whatever, stocking Rings of Spell Storing with called spells until he has the full listing of spells needed to continue crafting the item.

Legal? If not, where does it break?[/font]
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Perfecly legal... but... how many spell storing rings do you have planned wearing at the same time, you know, you must have the spells aviable. (Having a collaborating caster would help)

And, besides, how much would you be disposed to invest in spell-storing rings...
 

The assorted levels of Rings of Spell Storing are quite useful generic utility items - they let a spontaneous spellcaster "prepare" a spell with metamagic feats for later use as a standard action, they let any spellcaster still a spell at no spell slot adjustment (and no feat required), they permit a spellcaster to hand a few spells to non-spellcasters for use at appropriet times (e.g., Cure X Wounds to a fighter or barbarian, Invisibility to a Rogue, Silence to a monk). As there is no listed limit for how long a ring can hold a spell, it also permits a spellcaster to "prepare" or save extra spells for the next day. Even better, as a command-word item, casting a spell from a RoSS provokes no Attacks of Opportuninty.

Letting a member of a prestige class craft virtually anything is mostly just another use for an already very useful item.

Yes, I'm perfectly willing to invest in a lot of them (or one really big one) ... especially if it lets a wizard Scribe scrolls of spells he doesn't actually have in his spellbook...

... yet.
 
Last edited:

Another way to do this is to be an Artificer, or a Warlock so you don't have to worry about the spells. :)

Actually what I wanted to say is that the Chameleon PrC can make a really great item creation specialist. The only real limitation is that you have to make items that use spells 6th level or lower.
 

Where does it say again how someone else can provide the necessary spells, etc for item creation? I can't find that part in the DMG right now. :)

Does it say there, that items can also provide the necessary spells?

Bye
Thanee
 


gabrion said:
Another way to do this is to be an Artificer, or a Warlock so you don't have to worry about the spells. :)
Yes, but that tends to cripple normal spellcasting.
gabrion said:
Actually what I wanted to say is that the Chameleon PrC can make a really great item creation specialist. The only real limitation is that you have to make items that use spells 6th level or lower.
Well.... the chameleon will still need a spellbook to make items with arcane pre-requisites, and if I recall correctly, their spell levels won't stack with those from another class (so the chameleon will never personally have 7th level spells available ... unless you house-rule something for them in epic).

Thanee said:
Where does it say again how someone else can provide the necessary spells, etc for item creation? I can't find that part in the DMG right now. :)

Does it say there, that items can also provide the necessary spells?

Bye
Thanee
SRD said:
Prerequisites: Certain requirements must be met in order for a character to create a magic item. These include feats, spells, and miscellaneous requirements such as level, alignment, and race or kind. The prerequisites for creation of an item are given immediately following the item’s caster level.

A spell prerequisite may be provided by a character who has prepared the spell (or who knows the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard), or through the use of a spell completion or spell trigger magic item or a spell-like ability that produces the desired spell effect. For each day that passes in the creation process, the creator must expend one spell completion item or one charge from a spell trigger item if either of those objects is used to supply a prerequisite.

It is possible for more than one character to cooperate in the creation of an item, with each participant providing one or more of the prerequisites. In some cases, cooperation may even be necessary.
(Emphasis and Emphasis added).


Hmm... seems you can't use a command-word item, as written; just spell completion, spell trigger, or spell-like abilities. A ring of spell storing, even though it is storing an actual spell, doesn't qualify. Oh well.
 

Jack Simth said:
Yes, but that tends to cripple normal spellcasting.

In the case of the Warlock yes, but not really for the Artificer. He can get access to pretty much any spell.

Well.... the chameleon will still need a spellbook to make items with arcane pre-requisites, and if I recall correctly, their spell levels won't stack with those from another class (so the chameleon will never personally have 7th level spells available ... unless you house-rule something for them in epic).

Well one of the benefits is that with Boccob's Blessed book and using the floating feat for extra spell, the Chameleon gets all of his spells for free. About the spell progression though, you are right that they won't stack. That's why I said the drawback is only being able to make items that use spells up to 6th level. The real benefit I was pointing out though was using the floating feat for item creation feats, which is pretty nice since you can replace it with something more usefull when you aren't making things.
 
Last edited:

gabrion said:
That's why I said the drawback is only being able to make items that use spells up to 6th level.

Extra Spell allows you to learn a spell up to one lower than the character could otherwise learn, so up to 5th level
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top