Weapon of the Gods?

It depends on your level of rules lawyering. If all you care about is literal interpretation, the weapon could be held by anyone or anything. If you want to follow the rules as the designers intended them, the flavor text ("Your weapon glows with divine radiance, enhancing your attacks") seems pretty clear.

I don't think we should pay any attention to flavour text when it comes to finding out how something works.

After all aren't we supposed to make our own flavour text?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Then you'll probably want to use the first option. :)

I personally prefer to read the rules as an organic entity born from the minds of humans who were looking to have a fun and balanced game, not an excercise in language parsing. There's nothing wrong with the other way, I just don't find it to be all that fun for me most of the time.

If all it needs is "held" then there's wiggle room for it always working on any weapon. Either the weapon is "held" fast by gravity, or it's "held" free of gravity's pull by ____. ;)
 

I think I would go for one weapon held in someone's hand within touch range of the cleric--though would have a really hard time arguing the strict interpretation is wrong.

In general I would say that "Weapon of the Gods" is cola spilled on the battlemat mid fight.
 

I think the last few words of the Effect section of the power should help:

"...until the end of the weapon wielder's next turn." I read that as anyone's weapon on which you've used the power (the range being any held weapon that is within your melee range).

Personally, I think it's a bit ridiculous. Why not just say Ranged 2 (or Melee Touch), with the target line being "Your weapon, or one ally's weapon within range."

Regardless, I think the power was pretty poorly written.
 



Close Burst 1 would have done the exact same thing and been much more in line with the other powers in the game. It would have slightly penalized Large and larger casters, but that's unlikely to ever be an issue.
 


Close Burst 1 would have worked in exactly the same way, but then it would remove the major penalty associated with using this spell to buff an ally. Namely, that the cleric has to say:

"May I... touch your weapon?"
 

How does that work? I must have missed the rule about Close Burst and large creatures.

If the spell were range 2 (melee touch), then large creatures could buff allies 2 squares away. If it's Close Burst 1 they can only buff allies 1 square away. the circumstances necessary to make it an issue (a large cleric wishing to buff another ally when they can't get closer to one another) are so slim though that it is unlikely to occur.

The origin of a close power is a square within your space, so a Close Burst 1 from a large creature will overlap a portion of them, and not reach all adjacent squares.
 

Remove ads

Top