Weapon Sizes and the Bastard Sword

Thanee said:
Ok, so you say, that the designation change rule does not apply to that part also.

Hmm?

I'm not sure what you mean. The designation change doesn't apply to a bastard sword if you're not a creature of a different size to the bastard sword.

If you're a Medium creature with a Medium bastard sword, it's a one-handed weapon. If you don't have the EWP, it's a one-handed weapon too large to use in one hand.

If you're a Small creature, it's a two-handed weapon. What the 'too large to use in one hand' changes to in this case isn't specified; DM fiat must apply.

It's similar to the writeup for the gnome hooked hammer; it specifies in the description that it deals 1d4 damage. Strictly, then, a Fine through Colossal gnome hooked hammer would deal 1d4 damage... unlike other weapons, whose damage is specified for Small and Medium and is extrapolated otherwise. But there's an implicit 'gnome-sized' hanging over the hooked hammer entry, just as there's an implicit 'for a creature of the appropriate size' over the bastard sword entry.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

In answer to the original question:

Yes without the EWP.

From the SRD
Sword, Bastard: A bastard sword is too large to use in one hand without special training; thus, it is an exotic weapon. A character can use a bastard sword two-handed as a martial weapon.

Because the large Bastard sword is an exotic ONE handed weapon for a large user it changes to an Exotic TWO handed weapon for a medium user with a -2 size penalty. The EWP only counters the -4 non-proficiency penalty. And as a two handed weapon for medium chars the Large bastard sword can NOT be used one handed without the monkey grip feat from 3.0.
 

Zandel said:
Because the large Bastard sword is an exotic ONE handed weapon for a large user it changes to an Exotic TWO handed weapon for a medium user with a -2 size penalty. The EWP only counters the -4 non-proficiency penalty. And as a two handed weapon for medium chars the Large bastard sword can NOT be used one handed without the monkey grip feat from 3.0.

It can be used one-handed with the Monkey Grip from 3.5 as well :)

-Hyp.
 

Thanee said:
It's not *just* a one-handed weapon. It's a one-handed exotic weapon.

A non-proficient wielder can use it two-handed as a martial weapon.
For that user it *is* a two-handed martial weapon.

So if you take the EWP feat, your sword loses half its hit points?` :D


glass.
 


Infiniti2000 said:
A Large one-handed weapon becomes a two-handed weapon for a Medium character, regardless of proficiencies. Even with EWP, the character would need to use two hands and still take the -2 penalty.
In 3.0, that was true, but not in 3.5. You wield a Large weapon the same way you wield a medium weapon, but with a -2 penalty for its size.
 


Infiniti2000 said:
Krelios said:
In 3.0, that was true, but not in 3.5. You wield a Large weapon the same way you wield a medium weapon, but with a -2 penalty for its size.
Say what? No, you don't. Read through the section on the Inappropriately Sized Weapons and the 'measure of effort.'

I think Krelios means when using monkey grip, in which case he is correct (I think).

EDIT: Or maybe not. :D

glass.
 
Last edited:


t's similar to the writeup for the gnome hooked hammer; it specifies in the description that it deals 1d4 damage. Strictly, then, a Fine through Colossal gnome hooked hammer would deal 1d4 damage... unlike other weapons, whose damage is specified for Small and Medium and is extrapolated otherwise. But there's an implicit 'gnome-sized' hanging over the hooked hammer entry, just as there's an implicit 'for a creature of the appropriate size' over the bastard sword entry.

This is why I fervently hate the way they changed it in 3.5--they claim to have removed the weapon sizes to avoid confusion, but all they've done is made them implicit and kept them there, which causes even more confusion.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top