DM-Rocco
Explorer
It doesn't matter what the SRD says. Well, to a point.Mort said:again - how do you get around:
Per the SRD: Same Effect More than Once in Different Strengths: In cases when two or more identical spells are operating in the same area or on the same target, but at different strengths, only the best one applies.
Vampiric touch is not a healing spell, it grants temporary HP's for 1 hour. So 2 (or more) on the same target = overlap, they do not stack.
What I mean is, if the item or rule in question (in this case the spell vampiric touch) states differently than the SRD, you use the most current version of the rules with the item in question over riding the rules. In this case it is simple, the spell sets it owns limits. It states that you can't gain more HP than the creature has plus 10. That statement over rides anything in the SRD.
I side note, since the spell is initially meant for use on one person, you could argue that your SRD rules come into effect. I however, in addition to 25 years of DMing, also happen to be a level 2 judge in Magic the Gathering for over 10 years. I know how WOTC R&D designers think in terms of effects stacking and not stacking. Without any additional information in the form of rules or relevant examples, I would say that it effects each individual creature struck with you gaining an equal amount of HP as long as you don't go over the total HP plus 10 of each creature, with each temporary HP stacking with the other.
Part of the reason for this is that, even though it is from the same type of spell, it is not from a different source. It is from the same spell. It is the same effect gathering all at once, not an individual instance of the spells taking effect several times.