What does spell storing remember?

0-hr

Starship Cartographer
Can one place an Empowered Fireball into a Ring of Spell Storing (or does the "empowered" bit go away)?

If you can, does it take the space of a 3rd level spell, or a 5th level spell?

I'm more interested in rules references than opinions, as I already have an opinion and it will take something official to change it :)



EDIT: A more interesting question is asked in my followup post below. This one is answered clearly in the SRD.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Ki Ryn said:
Can one place an Empowered Fireball into a Ring of Spell Storing (or does the "empowered" bit go away)?

If you can, does it take the space of a 3rd level spell, or a 5th level spell?

I'm more interested in rules references than opinions, as I already have an opinion and it will take something official to change it :)
So do you not know the any SRD web addresses?

http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems/rings.htm#spellStoringMinor

Spell Storing, Minor
A minor ring of spell storing contains up to three levels of spells that the wearer can cast. Each spell has a caster level equal to the minimum level needed to cast that spell. The user need not provide any material components or focus, or pay an XP cost to cast the spell, and there is no arcane spell failure chance for wearing armor (because the ring wearer need not gesture). The activation time for the ring is same as the casting time for the relevant spell, with a minimum of 1 standard action.

For a randomly generated ring, treat it as a scroll to determine what spells are stored in it. If you roll a spell that would put the ring over the three-level limit, ignore that roll; the ring has no more spells in it. (Not every newly discovered ring need be fully charged.)

A spellcaster can cast any spells into the ring, so long as the total spell levels do not add up to more than three. Metamagic versions of spells take up storage space equal to their spell level modified by the metamagic feat. A spellcaster can use a scroll to put a spell into the minor ring of spell storing.

The ring magically imparts to the wearer the names of all spells currently stored within it.

Faint evocation; CL 5th; Forge Ring, imbue with spell ability; Price 18,000 gp.

Spell Storing
As the minor ring of spell storing, except it holds up to five levels of spells.

Moderate evocation; CL 9th; Forge Ring, imbue with spell ability; Price 50,000 gp.

Spell Storing, Major
As the minor ring of spell storing, except it holds up to ten levels of spells.

Strong evocation; CL 17th; Forge Ring, imbue with spell ability; Price 200,000 gp.


And since I smell a Saving throw DC question coming on...

Saving Throws Against Magic Item Powers
Magic items produce spells or spell-like effects. For a saving throw against a spell or spell-like effect from a magic item, the DC is 10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell.

Staffs are an exception to the rule. Treat the saving throw as if the wielder cast the spell, including caster level and all modifiers to save DC.

Most item descriptions give saving throw DCs for various effects, particularly when the effect has no exact spell equivalent (making its level otherwise difficult to determine quickly).
 

An Empowered fireball requires a 5th level slot to prepare.

A ring of spell storing holds up to 5 levels of spells.

On the face of it, it appears that levels of spells in this type of ring act as spell slots.

Therefore, I would say yes, an Empowered third level spell, effectively being fifth level, could be put into the ring.

Oh, you wanted a rules reference?
The [url=http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems/rings.htm#spellStoringMinor][i]ring of spell storing said:
Metamagic versions of spells take up storage space equal to their spell level modified by the metamagic feat.
 

frankthedm said:
So do you not know the any SRD web addresses?

Yes, I do not know the any SRD web adressess. But all your base belong to me! :D

Sorry, a player in my game asked me the questions and since I had just 12 hours earlier asked him to look things up before asking me, I had assumed he had looked it up before asking me. Obviously I should have also looked it up before asking here.

Having read the item description myself (after vowing to never look anything again for this particular player) I do have an actual question. Does the ring take into account other feats or abilities of the caster?I had always assumed it was a "memoryless" device - only tracking the name of the spell (and now, metamagic feats applied). Does it remember anything else?


EDIT: I can see that Spell Focus would be moot since the DC is set by the formula outlined in "Saving Throws" (thanks werk). Is all other non-metamagic information wiped?

EDI 2: changed the name of the thread to reflect this question and make me look slightly less like an idiot. :o
 
Last edited:

Ki Ryn said:
Does the ring take into account other feats (like Spell Focus)?

That's fairly covered by the last part of Frank's post.

I personally think there is some wiggle room for DMs. One read is the caster casts the spell into the ring where it is stored, so the stored spell is in all ways similar to the spell as cast. The other reading is Frank's, that once the spell is in the ring, the ring conforms to the RAW for spell casting items as posted above.


Edit: Kudos for getting an All Your Base reference in! linky
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top