When can you use the orb of imposition?

Stalker0

Legend
I had a fight today where the PC wizard used a save effect on a monster. A full round later, he decides to apply his orb penalty to it...which I thought was illegal.

However, I reread the rules. Its a free action (meaning anytime), and there's no clause that says you have to use the orb when you cast the effect.

Is there any other FAQ or cust serv info on this one...but by the book it looks perfectly legal.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

By RAW, I think it's legal.

It's a free action to apply the penalty to "designate one creature you have cast a wizard spell upon that has an effect that lasts until the subject succeeds on a saving throw."

And free actions can be taken at any point (note. GM's discretion...)

 

That's what my groups have been doing too. Specifically the wizard casts sleep and then waits for the monster to fail their first save. They then impose the save penalty.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top