Where are wands & holy symbols kept? quick or stowed?

Emirikol

Adventurer
I want to mess with the PC's by sundering or disarming their wands or holy symbols. Where are they stored (unless they state otherwise)? Are they quick-draw items? Can you use a holy symbol, mace and shield at the same time?

jh
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


I would say typically in the pockets of a robe, leather sleeve, or more likely in a bone or metal case very similar to a scroll case. For quick access, these would be usually attached to the belt.
 

So according to the rules, they're either quick access (which could be disarmed/sundered) or 'hidden/stowed' in which it takes a full round to access them correct?

jh
 

I let my players purchase wand belts which allow them to draw a wand as part of movement. So wands tend to be stored there. IMC, yes, to the holy symbol question.
 

In my group anyone who has more than one always gets a Wandolier for quick access.
Otherwise a single one is stored in pocket or container of some sort.
 

I have always thought wands were carried in wand cases, similar to scroll cases, carried on the belt, and easily accessible. You can use the quickdraw feat to draw a wand, so I would say they are quickdraw items.

As far as the holy symbol thing goes, per RAW I don't think you can use a holy symbol at the same time as your mace and shield. However, if the DM is flexible enough, there are ways around this. In one campaign, my cleric actually has his holy symbol mounted on the shield.
 

So there's no real ruling on either one? I'd imagine that druids, rangers and clerics would want their divine focus on an indestructible mounted thingy. Wand-users will always attempt to claim that they've hidden their wands so that they can't be destroyed or disarmed (or stolen).

Is there an item/rule in the complete arcane or the DMG that would be relevant to either one of these?

jh
 

Holy Symbols can be anywhere - worn around the neck, sewn into clothing, and for deities with the War domain I alow the god's favored weapon to be a holy symbol, on a shield would also be acceptable for most deities. Wands can be drawn as a move action, or for free w/ quick draw.
 

This is good news for this devious DM. Since I'm running some Living Greyhawk this weekend, it will be standard D&D rules. Heh heh heh.

Tidbits:
* Sheathing a wand provokes an AOO
* Holy symbols are either wooden or silver
* Spell components are considered to be in an easy access pouch
* Spell components, including divine focus, that are stowed require a standard action to retrieve.
* Spell components, including divine focus, cannot be 'hidden' for easy access without a successful 'sleight of hand' check. They may however be stowed out of sight.

REFERENCES:
I did find that "Drawing a Wand" is considered a 'weaponlike object (PHB p.141-2) is considered a standard action until a person has a +1 BAB. Sheathing your wand provokes an attack of opportunity p.141.

To "prepare spell components to cast a spell" is listed as a free action (p.141). That would include a divine focus as long as it was not 'stowed' or 'hidden.'

Drawing a hidden item is considered a "Standard Action" (p.141)

Hiding an item on your person requires the "Slight of Hand" skill (p.81)





..
 

Remove ads

Top