yet another AoO question

darkbard

Legend
it's quite amazing that i still can't figure this out on my own but here goes: when a character with a reach weapon is attacked by someone who has closed to 5 feet [and thus suffered an AoO] and chooses to step back 5 ft on his turn to be able to strike the character, does he, in turn, suffer an AoO for leaving the threatened square?

the rules say that a character that does nothing but make a 5 ft step or uses the withdraw action does not suffer an AoO, yet this character is making the 5 ft step and attacking. what's the ruling [3.5 PHB page reference would be appreciated.]. thanks for your help.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You do not suffer an AoO for moving, if all the movement for your turn is a 5' step. So a character with a reach weapon can step back and attack, without getting whacked. The same goes for casting spells, using a bow, etc.
 


WCrawford said:
If the only movement you do is take a 5' step, you don't suffer an AoO for movement.
Yes!
Also the attacker may mve a 5foot step and follow the Reach guy without AoO!
And still has Full Attack.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top