Dirty Magurdy
First Post
2 incidents that will likely come up in my next session and I'd be interested in knowing if there are any written rules regarding these topics or if any have any ideas different from my own on how to rule these circumstances...
1.) Control water is cast to form a depression in the water that will be about 60 feet long and 8 feet deep. The following round an Otiluke's freezing sphere will be cast in the water, freezing the surface and I'm going to assume, also freezing the "walls" of the watery depression formed by the Control Water spell. Any disagreement with that?
2.) Casting underwater. Can't find any ruling on this in the DMG as far as being able to cast while submerged in water. I'm ruling that a player can do it, but am also putting in a 20% chance of spell failure for spells with a verbal component. Is an official rule on that anywhere? Am I being unfair by having a chance of spell failure?
1.) Control water is cast to form a depression in the water that will be about 60 feet long and 8 feet deep. The following round an Otiluke's freezing sphere will be cast in the water, freezing the surface and I'm going to assume, also freezing the "walls" of the watery depression formed by the Control Water spell. Any disagreement with that?
2.) Casting underwater. Can't find any ruling on this in the DMG as far as being able to cast while submerged in water. I'm ruling that a player can do it, but am also putting in a 20% chance of spell failure for spells with a verbal component. Is an official rule on that anywhere? Am I being unfair by having a chance of spell failure?