D&D 5E (2014) Dispel Evil and Good cleric spell 5th level in use

If y'all had fun during this encounter kudos!

From rules perspective i think of the following element;

  • Mounting a creature must be willing. I assume it otherwise moves within it's space to prevent it which in such case would have the Cleric fall through its space.
  • Spell effect that touch as part of their effect tells you when an attack roll is needed, for Dispel Evil & Good Banishment does, Break Enchantment doesn't, only requiring an action to reach for it.
  • If mounting a creature had to be willing then no one would ever have ridden a horse. I’m not a cowboy but pretty sure that every wild horse at some point was unwilling to be ridden until it was broken in. Also pretty sure there is a whole rodeo entertainment industry that disproves the fact you’ve just asserted.
  • You can rule it that way but there is a bevy or experienced DMs telling you that casting cure spells on unwilling targets is a special case that takes some interpretation.
I always find it fascinating when folks try and make nuanced situations black and white.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

But inflict wounds (2024) is. It has a Range of touch and if you cast it you automatically touch the enemy and damage him.
Inflict Wounds has a saving throw that represents the defenders attempt to resist the effect. You’re missing that crucial detail in your description.
 

  • If mounting a creature had to be willing then no one would ever have ridden a horse. I’m not a cowboy but pretty sure that every wild horse at some point was unwilling to be ridden until it was broken in. Also pretty sure there is a whole rodeo entertainment industry that disproves the fact you’ve just asserted.
Rules as written a willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and that has an appropriate anatomy can serve as a mount.

DM can always rule otherwise though i was just giving RAW angle.
 



Rules as written a willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and that has an appropriate anatomy can serve as a mount.

DM can always rule otherwise though i was just giving RAW angle.
What you are describing is one common circumstance where something can definitely be ridden RAW which then applies the rules for mounted combat in the PHB

What it doesn’t say is that only a willing creatures that is are least one size larger can ever be ridden. It’s just that those circumstances aren’t covered by the Mounted Combat rules.

The DM being allowed (and indeed required) to determine alternative conditions is also RAW.
 



Lets extend this to another aspect of Dispel Evil and Good.

Ok I am dominated by an undead lich. You use break enchantment on me to remove the charmed condition (aka the dominate).


Do you require a save or an attack roll for that effect?
 

Lets extend this to another aspect of Dispel Evil and Good.

Ok I am dominated by an undead lich. You use break enchantment on me to remove the charmed condition (aka the dominate).


Do you require a save or an attack roll for that effect?
I would consider a charmed or frightened condition sufficiently different from possession to require separate analysis.
 

Remove ads

Top