D&D 3.x 3e-isms to avoid in KOTS?

Make sure you have a copy of all the Players abilities.

I found my players had a nasty habit of reading their powers "wrong", usually to their advantage. There is some subtlety to the powers and you have to read them carefully.

Take the first combat real slow and take a more active part in their actions; highlight some synergistic effects so players can get an idea of how the game has changed.

Highlight Action Points: I wasnt using them before 4e and the players didnt get how useful they can be.

Conditions have changed, so print out the page in theKOTS DM's rules and hang them from your DM screen or put them on condition cards. Check the power card thread in the homebrew section, I posted some status cards in there. You could deal them out a condition to the player it affects.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


The following actions provoke Opportunity Attacks:
1) Moving out of a threatened square.
2) Using a Ranged or Area attack.

If it isn't on that list, it doesn't provoke.

-TRRW
 

Make sure you review the rules for cover and ranged combat in general.

You cannot shift into difficult terrain--it's worth mentioning this to players as well. I have a fighter (essentially the DnDXP pregen) Bull Rushing and using Tide of Iron to keep the kobolds on their heels. Very cinematic, very fun.

It took me awhile to get used to not adding an ability bonus to a saving throw.
 

D'karr said:
Opportunity attacks are limited per opponent, not per turn. So you may take Opportunity attacks against multiple foes that provoke, but only one per opponent.

This isn't actually true. In 4e you can take an opportunity action (of which taking an opportunity attack is an example of) on each combatant's turn (if available).

Another thing to keep in mind is that you can know walk through an ally's square as long as you do not end your movement in their square.
 



Campbell said:
This isn't actually true. In 4e you can take an opportunity action (of which taking an opportunity attack is an example of) on each combatant's turn (if available).

So you're just saying the same thing I said but quoting it and then say that it is not true.

If multiple creatures take different actions that provoke you may take an Opportunity Attack on each one that provoked. But if they take more than one action that provokes you still can take one attack per creature.

Creature A and creature B both move on your threatened area, you may take an opportunity attack on each of them. If creature B also uses a ranged weapon in your threat area and you've already taken the Opportunity Attack from his movement you can not take a second one.
 

D'karr said:
So you're just saying the same thing I said but quoting it and then say that it is not true.

If multiple creatures take different actions that provoke you may take an Opportunity Attack on each one that provoked. But if they take more than one action that provokes you still can take one attack per creature.

Creature A and creature B both move on your threatened area, you may take an opportunity attack on each of them. If creature B also uses a ranged weapon in your threat area and you've already taken the Opportunity Attack from his movement you can not take a second one.

What you're saying is effectively correct and incorrect at the same time. Yes, you can only take one Opportunity Attack per creature, but there is also a per turn limit built in.

What the previous poster was saying comes into play with Leader type monsters. If Demon Leader A has a power that says something like "when this creature moves, one other creature may take a free move action" and uses it during his turn to move through your threatened area (taking your opportunity attack in the process), you cannot then make an Opportunity Attack against Demon Minion B (who also provoked by moving through your threatened area) during Demon Leader A's turn.

You can't take more than one opportunity attack during against any one monster per round, nor can you take more than one opportunity attack during any one monster's turn (even against other monsters, against whom you've made no opportunity attacks this round).

-TRRW
 

A spellcaster does not have his spellcasting disrupted any more than a fighter can have his cleave disrupted by damage. This assumes you use some 3E readying type rules in your test, 'cos there are none in the QS rules that I can find.
 

Remove ads

Top