D&D 3.x 3e-isms to avoid in KOTS?

I know other people have already implied this, but it's worth stating again, because it's tripped up my own group more than once.

Standing up from prone does not provoke opportunity attacks.

Also, most creatures with reach still don't threaten opportunity attacks beyond adjacent squares. Only creatures with the "threatening reach" special ability do so.

Things like concealment and displacement don't bestow a %-based miss chance. They simply add penalties to hit.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

D'karr said:
So you're just saying the same thing I said but quoting it and then say that it is not true.

If multiple creatures take different actions that provoke you may take an Opportunity Attack on each one that provoked. But if they take more than one action that provokes you still can take one attack per creature.

Creature A and creature B both move on your threatened area, you may take an opportunity attack on each of them. If creature B also uses a ranged weapon in your threat area and you've already taken the Opportunity Attack from his movement you can not take a second one.
But the rule isn't "max one OA per opponent". It's "You can only take one opportunity action on each combatant's turn (if available)", which is similar but not identical. The limit is not coupled to the actual opponent, but to the turns. With all the extra actions going on in 4e, this could make a lot of difference.
 

It's not really a 3e thing, but something I've seen players have trouble with is forced movement. A Push doesn't have to be directly away from you, it just has to be further away than when they started. So you can effectively push on a diagonal. Long pushes (like Turn Undead) can weave between obstacles.

At first, they might easily forget to use abilities like marking, quarrying, or cursing, as well as little things like Arcane Implement Mastery, Prime Shot, and Second Chance. Try to remind them.

Edit: I see that readying is a problem. From what I've gleaned though various sources, a readied action is an immediate reaction, not an interrupt, so it happens after the action that triggers it is completed. This can be a problem if, for example, you ready to fire an arrow when an opponent moves into sight, but if they finish their move adjacent to you, you'll provoke an OA if you go through with it. However, your initiative still moves up to right before the triggering creature's turn.

Edit: Readied actions can interrupt movement. See below.
 
Last edited:


MindWanderer said:
From what I've gleaned though various sources, a readied action is an immediate reaction, not an interrupt, so it happens after the action that triggers it is completed. This can be a problem if, for example, you ready to fire an arrow when an opponent moves into sight, but if they finish their move adjacent to you, you'll provoke an OA if you go through with it.

This isn't entirely accurate, but I'm not sure if I'm allowed to say why. :o Does anyone have a link to what info on readied actions has been made public, so I know what I can talk about?
 

Mouseferatu said:
This isn't entirely accurate, but I'm not sure if I'm allowed to say why. :o Does anyone have a link to what info on readied actions has been made public, so I know what I can talk about?
Dangit. No, I'm pretty sure next to nothing has been made public; what I posted was collected from DDXP DMs and a few WotC employees with big mouths. KotS really ought to have better rules, but if it does, I haven't heard about it.

If my original post was wrong, my best guess is that immediate reactions can take place in the middle of a move. Which would make more sense to me than what I posted--but it also makes it so that the kobold dragonshields can shift in the middle of an opponent's move, allowing the opponent to continue their move afterwards. Either that or readied actions don't count as immediate reactions anymore (they did at DDXP).
 

Mouseferatu said:
This isn't entirely accurate, but I'm not sure if I'm allowed to say why. :o Does anyone have a link to what info on readied actions has been made public, so I know what I can talk about?
Logan posted that, while readied actions are reactions (and not interrupts), they can in fact occur in the middle of movement. His example was someone entering though a door, being shot by a readied magic missile, and then completing his movement.

Here is a link to Logan's post.
 



Sorry for jumping into this thread with a question, but could someone point out where they're getting that "one OA per enemy in a round" limitation?? I'm not seeing it.

I have the KotS DM booklet here with me and all I can read is "one opportuniy action on each combatant's turn." Which is a -big- difference.

What this means to me is that if kobold A somehow moves through and provokes on its turn, the fighter will opportunity-attack it. However, if then on Kobold B's turn Kobold A is somehow allowed to move through and provoke again, the fighter WILL hit him again. It's another combatant's turn, and the fighter gets one OA per combatant's turn. No limitation on who that OA has to target.

In fact, that "one OA per enemy per round" strikes me as precisely the sort of 3e-ism we're trying to discover here :)

At least that's how I will be running it until I can find a rule that says otherwise.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top