5 Foot Step "no action"

Silveras said:
Only as a house-rule. The general rules, as cited above, spell out that a 5-foot step is taken on your turn, among your other actions. An Immediate Action specifically allows you to take it outside your turn, which is basically how it differs from a Swift Action. If it also allowed you to take a 5-foot-step outside your own turn, it would be reasonable to expect that to be explicitly stated (as it is an exception to the established rules).

Actually, the wording is "You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round." So not using the word "turn". Thus we have not yet found clear evidence that a character can take 5-foot step in his turn.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It doesnn't matter which kind of action the 5-foot step action is, the PHB clearly states you can only take it during your turn. The "no action" type is only a means to say you don't give up anything by performing it. The only kind of action that can take place out of your round are "immediate actions".

Immediate actions are very specific, usually involving spell and powers, which consume your next swift (or quickened, if you want to see it like that) action/spell/power. You can only perform whatever spell, power or action is specified in the spell/power/action that enables you to act in that way; all other kind of actions (including the 5-foot step action) are to be used in your round only.
 

Selganor said:
As the 5ft Step is declared as "no action" can it also be done outside one's initiative?

...thus allowing infinite movement in any given round by taking "no action" 5ft steps outside of your initiative? :D
 

Plane Sailing said:
...thus allowing infinite movement in any given round by taking "no action" 5ft steps outside of your initiative? :D
Not infinite, as you can only take a 5ft step if you didn't already move in the round.
 

Remove ads

Top