A D&D Test


log in or register to remove this ad

Darkness said:
Dead creatures can still take actions.

You know, I might have to change my answer on this, if I can find confirmation of a commonly-accepted point in the RAW.

It appears in the FAQ, p22: "If you’re dead, you become an object." I know that's brought up regularly as common sense... does anyone recall if it's stated in the Core Rules anywhere?

Anyway, if we assume this to be true, then in the PHB under Smashing an Object, we find "An inanimate object has not only a Dexterity of 0 (-5 penalty to AC), but also an additional -2 penalty to its AC."

In the DMG under Ability Damage, we find "A character with Dexterity 0 is paralyzed."

If you're paralyzed, you can only take purely mental actions.

Of course, as an object, you also have no Wis or Cha, so you won't be casting any Wis- or Cha-based spells while dead. You also can't perceive your environment in any fashion (no Wis), nor can you tell the difference between yourself and things that are not yourself (no Cha).

So you might, perhaps, be able to cast a purely mental Int-based spell, but you can't select anything as a target!

-Hyp.
 

So then, you'd want to cast a fireball centered right where you are.

As an object, I'm thinking you don't take the damamge. right?
 

Eolin said:
So then, you'd want to cast a fireball centered right where you are.

As an object, I'm thinking you don't take the damamge. right?

As an unattended object, you get no save.

But you take half damage, since it's fire damage to an object.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
So you might, perhaps, be able to cast a purely mental Int-based spell, but you can't select anything as a target!

But if the spell is personal, then you do not select a target - it effects you automatically.

So - a wizard can cast a personal spell with no components when he's dead. Interesting.
 


Saeviomagy said:
But if the spell is personal, then you do not select a target - it effects you automatically.

Hmm... I don't agree. You still have to select a target at the moment the spell comes into effect - it's just that You (or your familiar, or your animal companion, or your paladin's mount) are the only valid target.

But since you have no Cha score, you can't distinguish between You and Not-You, so you can't target a Personal spell either.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Hmm... I don't agree. You still have to select a target at the moment the spell comes into effect - it's just that You (or your familiar, or your animal companion, or your paladin's mount) are the only valid target.

But since you have no Cha score, you can't distinguish between You and Not-You, so you can't target a Personal spell either.

-Hyp.
Good point - you still have to pick a target, it's just that if the target is anything except you, the spell fails.

So dead may well actually be dead in 3.5. Although it's a pretty tortuous route to prove it.
 

Saeviomagy said:
Good point - you still have to pick a target, it's just that if the target is anything except you, the spell fails.

So dead may well actually be dead in 3.5. Although it's a pretty tortuous route to prove it.

Oh, it was tortuous in 3E as well. While dead, you were dying, and thus unconscious, and thus helpless, and thus could take no actions.

... although... I just had a thought. I can't see anything in 3E that would prevent the 10% chance each hour of becoming conscious-but-disabled, when you're dead. You couldn't become undisabled (enabled?), since you can't be healed while dead, but you'd at least be able to take move actions without falling unconscious again :)

... or could, if you weren't an object :)

-Hyp.
 

I would contend that a dead character is not an object but a "dead creature" as the target listed under Raise Dead. Obviously you are a creature and not an object or the spell wouldn't affect you. Unless one can be both a creature and an object.
 

Remove ads

Top