A few rogue questions

Also, if you're lucky enough to have a pair of magic weapons, you can choose which one to use - versatility is an important advantage.

Personally, though, as a rogue, I tend to hold a potion in my offhand. Just in case ^^
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Player's Handbook, page 232, under Thrown Weapons...

PHB 232 said:
Any magic light thrown or heavy thrown weapon, from the lowly +1 shuriken to a +6 perfect hunter's spear, automatically returns to its wielder's hand after a ranged attack with the weapon is resolved.

Catching a returning thrown weapon is free action: if you do not wish (or are unable) to catch the weapon, it falls at your feet in your space.
 


Player's Handbook, page 232, under Thrown Weapons...
Thanks Mort_Q, I can't believe I had missed that in the migration from 3.5E!!

Still, it doesn't help my rogue with his Blinding Barrage (close blast 3) daily as the PHB also says that you need enough ammunition (or thrown weapons) for each target in the area.
 

If you're using a magic weapon, you don't need extra ammunition - it's covered in the PHB FAQ:

14. I am using a magical thrown weapon as part of an area of effect power. If I am attacking multiple enemies within that area, do I need multiple weapons, or will one suffice?

One is enough in this case. Magical thrown weapons return to you after each attack, so you’ll be able to use it against each enemy as part of using your power.​
 

Player's Handbook, page 232, under Thrown Weapons
Originally Posted by PHB 232
Any magic light thrown or heavy thrown weapon, from the lowly +1 shuriken to a +6 perfect hunter's spear, automatically returns to its wielder's hand after a ranged attack with the weapon is resolved.

Catching a returning thrown weapon is free action: if you do not wish (or are unable) to catch the weapon, it falls at your feet in your space.

Red alert!

Blinding barrage is a close blast, not a ranged attack, its a close blast. :confused:

I remmember a discussion a while back were people came to the conclusion that 1 magic dagger would be enough for a blinding barrage attack.

Seems that it is not by RAW.

Am I wrong?
 

I think that comes under the category of "needlessly nitpicky" :p but, if we're going to follow this to its logical conclusion, since it's a close blast rather than a ranged attack, do you need to throw your weapon at all?
 

I distinctly recall the PHB stating that you need a separate piece of ammunition or weapon in order to attack each creature in a blast (for those powers that allow this sort of thing). There was no mention of magical thrown weapons removing that requirement, which is probably why I assumed that thrown weapons didn't return (as well as my 3.5E mindset).

But that strongly suggests that the thrown weapon doesn't return in a blast.

Maybe the FAQ is wrong? (it wouldn't be the first time)

Certainly if you could use the single magical thrown weapon for blast attacks, that would simplify the attack/damage rolls.
 

Red alert!

Blinding barrage is a close blast, not a ranged attack, its a close blast. :confused:

I remmember a discussion a while back were people came to the conclusion that 1 magic dagger would be enough for a blinding barrage attack.

Seems that it is not by RAW.

Am I wrong?
Of course you're wrong!

Since Blinding Barrage is a Close attack, you're not throwing your weapon at all. You're obviously using your acrobatic skill to weave around in the 3x3 circle square and stab every opponent in the eyes, personally.

Cheers, -- N
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top