A few rules questions

Actually, if it isn't contingent on adjecency, then the statement is still applicable to -leaving- a square within reach.

If it isn't contingent on adjacency, then it isn't contingent on leaving a square either.

There are two sentences. One says "If the enemy shifts, you can't make one."

That "one" is either an OA, or it's an OA with the conditions laid down in the other sentence - leaving an adjacent square.

If it's any OA, it covers Threatening Reach and Polearm Gamble, since both of those allow an OA.

If it's an OA with the conditions from the other sentence, then it excludes both Threatening Reach and Polearm Gamble, because neither of them involve leaving an adjacent square.

The Threatening Reach text doesn't go back and rewrite the first sentence. It stands alone.

So either the first sentence as written describes what sort of OA is prevented by a shift, or it doesn't.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Remove ads

Top