DracoSuave
First Post
You just said in a novel what I said in an abstract. If they won't read the abstract, maybe they'll read the novel? I just can't get through.
Colors dude! Colors!
You just said in a novel what I said in an abstract. If they won't read the abstract, maybe they'll read the novel? I just can't get through.
1. Holy Ardor provides a critical hit.
2. This overrides the normal hit rules.
3. Since this is the case we can no longer look at any of the hit rules to prove what Holy Ardor does or does not do. We must now rely only on the rules text within the power granting us an exception in order to determine the outcome.
4. Our result is now undefined because we no longer have a definition of critical hit or hit and there is no such definition in the text of Holy Ardor.
...
You are suggesting a modified form of the first case where you somehow get to both use the normal hit rules to prove that "critical" = "hit" and simultaneously ignore the requirements of a hit. You can't use the rules in such a fashion. Either you use the WHOLE rule or none of it (OR the power granting the exception tells you specifically what sections you get to ignore and how - but it should be noted that Holy Ardor does NOT do this). For this reason I asked you to prove what text (within the body of Holy Ardor) grants you a hit without needing to hit the defense of the target because if there were such text I could agree with your assertion as you have now given an alternate version of the hit rules and can now truly ignore the hit rules in their entirety.
I see what you're saying, but I disagree that the Hit (or crit) section must be taken as a whole unit. The definitions of those terms (hit/crit) still apply. I don't think it's an all or nothing proposition as you suggest.
As a complete sidenote, I would like to say that this has been one of the healthiest, infotainmentiest, and most reasonable forum discussions I've ever had the pleasure of being a part of.
If you are going to apply the rule (ie use it to prove your assertion of crit = hit noting that is has never been used in this fashion) then I have to stick with yes you are stuck with all parts of the rule and it's requirements. If you were only using it's definition then I'd agree, but you're not. Or alternatively show me some specific text in Holy Ardor that overrides the requirements of "hit".
If you were only using it's definition then I'd agree, but you're not.
I'm not sure I fully understand your objection. There are plenty of examples where the normal requirements for something are overridden (like new ways to get opportunity attacks), but just because you skip the normal requirements, doesn't mean you need to also dispose of the rules on what that thing IS. You still need to know how to apply the thing the ability granted you, be it a critical hit or an opportunity attack. This is the same.
Could you elaborate on this part, I'm not sure what you mean here.
In essence you are attempting to use the general rules on hit to prove that the general rules on hit don't apply which is by it's very nature a circular argument.
All of this misses the mark completely. I'm going to do two cases below to show the options the way I see it.
1. Holy Ardor provides a critical hit.
2. This overrides the normal hit rules.
3. Since this is the case we can no longer look at any of the hit rules to prove what Holy Ardor does or does not do. We must now rely only on the rules text within the power granting us an exception in order to determine the outcome.
4. Our result is now undefined because we no longer have a definition of critical hit or hit and there is no such definition in the text of Holy Ardor.
1. Holy Ardor provides a critical hit.
2. This does not override the normal hit rules.
3. Consult the normal hit rules to determine what a critical hit is.
4. A critical hit requires that we have hit the target so let's check if this is true.
5. If we hit, now apply the rules for crit that we were granted (max damage etc).
...
To use your car analogy from earlier:
I have a steering wheel, therefore I have a car.
The steering wheel represents your critical and the car represents a "hit". The steering wheel is a subset of "car", but just because you have one it does not necessarily follow that you have a car. The "definition" of a steering wheel may be that it is part of the car, but having one does not prove that you have the car.
Skewer the Weak (Sword Marshal 16th level): said:When you score a critical hit using a heavy blade, you and all your allies gain combat advantage against the enemy you struck until the end of your next turn.
This standard is not applied like you suggest in interpreting other powers. Take this for example:My point (as it has been all along) is that you are using the general rules to prove something they were never intended to prove. For exception based design to work you have to follow one basic principle. The general rule ALWAYS applies unless specifically overridden by some other rule. Following this edict, (as it has been since this debate started) nothing in Holy Ardor says that you hit, therefore the hit rules (read this as requirements) still apply.
Exhalted Retribution (Paladin 25) said:Effect: Until the end of the encounter, the target provokes an opportunity attack from you when it attacks (save ends). You gain a +2 bonus to the opportunity attack roll
and deal an extra 1[W] damage.
Now don't get all "Dracosuave" on me here. Most of the exchanges so far have been civil enough to leave out statements like these, as much as we both might feel like saying them.Quite frankly you are wrong. All that is left is for you to accept it.
Which is truly the simpler interpretation?
Yeah, and using someone's name as an adjective is totally civil...Now don't get all "Dracosuave" on me here.